<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods

Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Old 01-29-2005, 01:54 AM

Bodywood, Neckwood, Fretboard wood, and others - how much do they really matter?

This has been a question i've been thinking about for a LONG time. People say that basswood n alder have decidedly different tone n all that, but I just can't understand how it can affect electric guitar this much. Before I started playing the guitar, I honestly thought it was made out of plastic...In any case, the magnetic pickups in electric guitar is really the only part producing the sound/sound signal. So why would the wood matter in the first place? (I know it matters, but how much?) When speaking of this topic, I'm largely refering to the tone. I can understand why it would affect the sustain. If someone can answer me, it'd really help me understand the instrument better.

actually, as i was writing that, a 2nd question popped in my head. You know how even magnetic pickups are somewhat 'microphonic'? How is that possible? a magetic pickups works pretty differently from a microphone...so how does the microphonic phenomenon occure?

-Bo
Old 01-29-2005, 10:49 AM

Re: Bodywood, Neckwood, Fretboard wood, and others - how much do they really matter?

Hey, i'v always wondered the same thing but i think the wood matters SOME in my opinion (then again noones ever told me exactly why the wood is so important and if it really matters that much) but i wood would really matter in some cases. The wood may reverberate and help promote sustain instead of plastic where it wouldnt i suppose. Then again maby the wood is a certain type to help the structure and promote its long lasting. As far as the pickups im not really sure but i do know if you stick an altoids tin (empty of course) over a active pickup, you can talk into it and it picks up your voice =P