Edge3 Replacement Tremolo - Page 2 - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-20-2007, 06:51 AM
slash_88  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: singapore
Posts: 112  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


ar i see. thanks
quote
  #17  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:13 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,002  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Looking at both of those Nuno, there's not a great deal of work still to fit any of those trems. Nothing a dremmel couldn't take care of in a short amount of time.
quote
  #18  
Old 09-20-2007, 08:49 PM
sleepyone  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


SO THE EDGE PRO IT'S A DIRECT DROP IN IN THE EDGE III CAVITY!!!!?????
quote
 
  #19  
Old 09-20-2007, 09:48 PM
thrill74  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 31  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
what year? i.e. what trem there was in?
Last April, 2006 Edge 3, OFR from Warmoth.

Btw, I think the Gotoh in question is the Gotoh made floyd http://www.guitarpartsresource.com/SB5300003.jpg

http://www.hosco.co.jp/HOSCO_ENGLISH...gg2007_25.html
quote
  #20  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:17 PM
(a)
satchboogeyman  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 359  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Thanks Nuno, thats pretty cut and dry. This thread should be stickied.
quote
  #21  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:31 AM
Ki swordsman  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: TAS, Australia
Posts: 1,273  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


i've got a question...

if the edge and lopro are too big to fit in the edge pro cavity... shouldn't the edge pro fit easily in the (larger) edge/lopro cavity??

do the posts not line up or something?
quote
  #22  
Old 09-21-2007, 02:44 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by thrill74 View Post
Last April, 2006 Edge 3, OFR from Warmoth.
can you plz post a pic of your upgraded 350? i'm curious to know why it didn't fit to my Edge-III cavity...
quote
  #23  
Old 09-21-2007, 02:56 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ki swordsman View Post
shouldn't the edge pro fit easily in the (larger) edge/lopro cavity??
i think yes, but i'm not positive on that. if i remember correctly, the trem would touch just a bit right beneath the wings, where they attach to the "tail". check the pics:

Edge-Pro into Edge cavity (RG565): may fit.





and the knives/posts would match. but i'm not pretty sure, i can't remember exactly now, sorry.
quote
  #24  
Old 09-21-2007, 07:18 PM
Ki swordsman  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: TAS, Australia
Posts: 1,273  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
i think yes, but i'm not positive on that. if i remember correctly, the trem would touch just a bit right beneath the wings, where they attach to the "tail". check the pics:

Edge-Pro into Edge cavity (RG565): may fit.





and the knives/posts would match. but i'm not pretty sure, i can't remember exactly now, sorry.
hmm interesting, thanks Nuno..

anywhere i can find the edge pro dimensions? like the width of the trem between the arrows in the picture?
to see if it would fit on mine..
quote
  #25  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:47 PM
thrill74  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 31  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
can you plz post a pic of your upgraded 350? i'm curious to know why it didn't fit to my Edge-III cavity...
I would be glad to, if I was the owner. Ok, here's the deal. I had a LTD M-400 with a licensed floyd similar to the egde 3. Most of these except the original edge are just a variation of the OFR Lo Pro just for reminders. Anyway. I swapped my lic floyd for an OFR. I took the guitar on a trip with me and one of my jamming buddies I see everytime I take a trip liked the mod. He works at a Ibanez dealer and had just bought a white 350. He didn't have a black OFR in stock, just chrome. He wanted to do the swap on his 350. I told him we could try it out and it might work cause an OFR's base plate is shorter than the edge 3's (attached pic). So we yanked it and then put the OFR in. The length was a little short but it still fit. So he string it up and that was that. We've both been under the impression that an OFR will swap the lic floyds on ltd's and the edge 3.
quote
  #26  
Old 09-22-2007, 02:27 AM
Chritar  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 242  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


i recall someone saying that the schaller fr was a direct drop for the edge 3, i was gonna go with that if my edge 3 ever poops out, but not anymore
quote
  #27  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:39 AM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,982  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chritar View Post
i recall someone saying that the schaller fr was a direct drop for the edge 3, i was gonna go with that if my edge 3 ever poops out, but not anymore
it's actually the a direct swap for the edge pro 2. i did this in an earlier rgt42. the narrow barrel screws makes the longer floyd original impossible without routing.

rich
quote
  #28  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:39 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by rty13ibz98 View Post
it's actually the a direct swap for the edge pro 2. i did this in an earlier rgt42. the narrow barrel screws makes the longer floyd original impossible without routing.

rich
are you sure it was an EdgePro II? or more probably a Lo-TRS? cause the Schaller doesn't fit into an EdgePro-II (and EdgePro) cavity. or, better, it fits actually, but its knives don't fit the posts, look this:


Schaller into Edge-Pro II cavity: trem fits, posts don't.

quote
  #29  
Old 09-25-2007, 04:55 PM
Mario5150  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Anyone got pictures of an OFR or Edge Pro in a Edge III route?
quote
  #30  
Old 09-25-2007, 06:50 PM
Ki swordsman  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: TAS, Australia
Posts: 1,273  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


you're in luck! i came across the very pics you are looking for!!
here's where you can find them..

go to the first page of this thread,
go down a bit.
quote
Reply

Tags
base plate , floyd rose , floyd rose pro , ibanez dealer , lopro trem , neck shim , pro edge , schaller trem , string lock


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to find replacement tremolo studs for a Lo-TRS II, help! arilr Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 2 07-30-2006 06:48 PM
Broken ZR tremolo... Is this common?? FastRedPonyCar Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 16 06-01-2006 04:50 PM
S470DX, broken tremolo :( Steve069 Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 10 05-16-2006 03:50 PM
Just a question... - about Tremolo Bridge Height Adjustment armindo__dias Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-03-2001 12:20 AM
Lo-pro Edge tremolo - replacement for 555 kylemac Gear and Equipment 7 07-24-2001 06:41 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by