Edge3 Replacement Tremolo - Page 3 - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-25-2007, 08:40 PM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,982  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
are you sure it was an EdgePro II? or more probably a Lo-TRS? cause the Schaller doesn't fit into an EdgePro-II (and EdgePro) cavity. or, better, it fits actually, but its knives don't fit the posts, look this:


Schaller into Edge-Pro II cavity: trem fits, posts don't.

wish i had pics, but the guitar was for a student of mine that bought an rgt42 body/neck off **** and i used spare parts for it. i was going to originally use a jackson jt-580 as it is essential the lo-trs, but it didn't work. too long. the floyd rose II was a direct drop. the posts aren't really a problem as they are cut in the "v" for the pivot. that made it possible for the knife edges to seat in the post.

rich
quote
  #32  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:51 AM
slash_88  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: singapore
Posts: 112  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


if u want good lisc trem for a swap with an edge pro 2, you can go get a gotoh. the gotoh i got fit right into mi jem555 routing.
quote
  #33  
Old 09-26-2007, 02:33 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by slash_88 View Post
if u want good lisc trem for a swap with an edge pro 2, you can go get a gotoh. the gotoh i got fit right into mi jem555 routing.
could you plz post a pic of it?
quote
 
  #34  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:00 PM
Guitarmiester  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 344  -  iTrader: (2)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalsubstance View Post
For an RG350MDX, what would be a straight swap?
A Floyd Rose Pro will drop right in.
quote
  #35  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:01 PM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


again...

*USELESS TOPIC WITHOUT PICS!*
quote
  #36  
Old 10-03-2007, 06:30 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,002  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo




I hope Chef21 doesn't mind me posting his pic here, but that guitar on the right is his RG350 that originally came with an Edge III. He directly replaced it with an OFR, there's a thread around here some where about it, and I'm pretty sure it was a direct fit for him.
quote
  #37  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:25 AM
thrill74  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 31  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Yeah that thread is here:
http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41770

And it's a licensed floyd all the way. Looks like a decent fit though

Last edited by thrill74; 10-04-2007 at 04:57 PM..
quote
  #38  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:28 PM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


there are signs telling me that Chef21's is a pre-03 RG, i.e. Lo-TRS, not Edge-III. in fact, the "new" trem he put in the Lo-TRS place is one of those licenseds with wide wings, not a Floyd-direct licensed (narrow wings) like the Schaller or the Gotoh. i tried to put a Schaller in an Edge-III cavity and it did barely fit in width. now, a wide-winged licensed wouldn't. check this pic:




now look at these pics, it's an Edge-III cavity, and look how narrower in comparison with Lo-TRS's, keep the pickups width or pickups' screws as a reference:







and look at the back of the cavity, they look different in the spring block's area:


(see slanted walls and routing on the bass strings side)


(see square walls, and no routing on the bass strings side)



also, see how the tail's cavity is shorter than the baseplate cavity on the Edge-III:




in comparison with Lo-TRS's which has a tail cavity the same lenght of the baseplate cavity:



i may be wrong, but those cavities are different, and i can assure you that a wide-winged licensed WON'T fit the Edge-III cavity (unless you set it so high it stucks out of the cavity...). :
quote
  #39  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:33 PM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


looking this pic better, it seems like the trem's sitting above the guitar's top level, not inside the cavity (also check the high action, by consequence):

quote
  #40  
Old 10-04-2007, 01:05 PM
(a)
jb4674  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,594  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 18

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Why is the action so high on it? I thought the top of the OFR should be parallel with the body.

Jimmy
quote
  #41  
Old 10-05-2007, 04:51 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4674 View Post
Why is the action so high on it?
because the trem's baseplate is sitting ON the top of the guitar, rather than resting flush into it, as it's supposed to be.
quote
  #42  
Old 10-05-2007, 11:54 PM
Ki swordsman  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: TAS, Australia
Posts: 1,273  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


the bridge wings are sitting on top of the outside of the body so he can't lower the studs unfortunately
quote
  #43  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:37 PM
CodeNameROFL  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


I just put an OFR in my '05 RG350DXWH.
Bought it from Warmoth, and it dropped right in.
quote
  #44  
Old 02-03-2008, 07:05 PM
pera_a777  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 407  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Old thread, i know...
but, after long quest..
IS THERE A SIMPLE ANSWER TO THIS TOPIC..?
Most simple/functional replacement would be...?
Thank you!
quote
  #45  
Old 02-03-2008, 10:05 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,002  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo


Edge Pro apparently.
quote
Reply

Tags
base plate , floyd rose , floyd rose pro , ibanez dealer , lopro trem , neck shim , pro edge , schaller trem , string lock


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to find replacement tremolo studs for a Lo-TRS II, help! arilr Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 2 07-30-2006 06:48 PM
Broken ZR tremolo... Is this common?? FastRedPonyCar Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 16 06-01-2006 04:50 PM
S470DX, broken tremolo :( Steve069 Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 10 05-16-2006 03:50 PM
Just a question... - about Tremolo Bridge Height Adjustment armindo__dias Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-03-2001 12:20 AM
Lo-pro Edge tremolo - replacement for 555 kylemac Gear and Equipment 7 07-24-2001 06:41 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by