Edge3 Replacement Tremolo - Page 6 - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #76 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-12-2009, 07:24 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 531
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

You should be able to pull em out. Here's what it looks like when taken out


I think you have to use 2 hammers/pliers for this.
madpickin03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 04:56 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Posts: 1,024
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

The most important and useful thread on jemsite I have seen in awhile should be stickied or edleast book marked :P
ibz_SA is offline  
post #78 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 07:09 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
...but someone like Nuno should be able to give you a more concrete answer.
hehe, i actually PM'd with Blaireau about this, and i told him i usually pull that plate out just with a knife wedged right underneath. don't know if it's a "professional" fashion, but it works.
nuno is offline  
post #79 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 03:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Landshut, Germany
Posts: 32
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

I am gonna exchange my Edge 3 with an OFR, and I would like to know if I HAVE TO remove this anchor thingy or can I just put the new studs in ??? Or do I have the same problem as blaireau has?
Yanic is offline  
post #80 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 04:03 PM
Moderator
 
jim777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 9,455
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Moved and stickied
jim777 is offline  
post #81 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 06:03 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 63
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanic View Post
I am gonna exchange my Edge 3 with an OFR, and I would like to know if I HAVE TO remove this anchor thingy or can I just put the new studs in ??? Or do I have the same problem as blaireau has?
The OFR studs are a larger diameter so they will not fit into the edge III anchors. You have to pull the edge III anchors, drill the existing hole out to accomodate the ofr anchors.
chrisgr is offline  
post #82 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 12:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Landshut, Germany
Posts: 32
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

And what about the routing? We know that the OFR fits but what about up bendings? The cavity is only about 1.5 cm deep under the backpart of the Vibrato (that`s about 0.59" I think). So should I make it deeper?
Yanic is offline  
post #83 of 367 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 04:30 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanic View Post
And what about the routing? We know that the OFR fits but what about up bendings? The cavity is only about 1.5 cm deep under the backpart of the Vibrato (that`s about 0.59" I think). So should I make it deeper?
@Yanic: nuno's pics earlier in this thread suggest that upbendings should be no problem with an OFR in an Edge III cavity. At any rate, I wouldn't route anything before I hold the thing in my hands and see whether there is actually a problem.

Has anyone experience with drilling out the Edge III anchor holes to fit in the larger Edge Pro inserts? I'd like to know how risky this business is, before I decide whether I want to try it. What diameter should the holes be, so that the new inserts fit tightly? Many thanks!
blaireau189 is offline  
post #84 of 367 (permalink) Old 04-09-2009, 07:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 493
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone has spray painted and edge tremolo? Just wondering if it's worth it or not?

Regards,
Nelson
nsabino is offline  
post #85 of 367 (permalink) Old 04-21-2009, 08:46 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

I don't understand does the Gotoh retro fit or not?
JEMINIxLEGACY is offline  
post #86 of 367 (permalink) Old 04-27-2009, 09:22 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daytona, FL
Posts: 1,917
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

The Gotoh and an Original Floyd Rose have a similar footprint. The bass side "wing" is sightly bigger on the Gotoh, and both "wings" are slightly longer.

I had to dremel out a small amount of wood from my 2009 XPT700 to get an OFR into it. The problem was on the treble side wing.

Photo of the bridge in the reshaped rout here:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...ebDSCF0678.jpg

It would probably take less wood to get the Gotoh in, but in a different spot.

Last edited by toshiro; 05-29-2009 at 11:17 AM.
toshiro is offline  
post #87 of 367 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 05:44 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: pr
Posts: 17
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

Hi all i was looking for a good floyd style replacement, for a Ibanez using Edge III tremolo bridge which i don't like at all. this Bridge can be replace with a old lo edge pro from the older models without any mod? the edge III is on a RGT42DX any sugestion are welcome..
mxr2000 is offline  
post #88 of 367 (permalink) Old 06-09-2009, 08:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 75
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

I know thatthe edge 3 can be swapped for an ofr or an edge pro. I have an ibanez rgt42 with edge and i set up it well, it stays in tune and i can do some cool stuff with it, the problem y durability and the arm, i have used teflon tape and varnish but it becomes thin after 2 months. My only option is an Ofr since I live in Mexico and edge pro is not available here, I think that an OFR can be chipped with warmoth or beyond eleven or other store, but I dont know if there will be problems with the radius and the nut. If i can get the fr nut to work and the bridge without having to buy tons of shims and to correct crazy radiuses i'll buy it. Tell me please if it can be done or I better stick with my edge 3.
Maybe Nuno could help

Last edited by Vikingguitar; 06-09-2009 at 08:42 PM. Reason: Incomplete message
Vikingguitar is offline  
post #89 of 367 (permalink) Old 06-13-2009, 05:31 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 75
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

I've been doing my homework and came with the next:
After asking a youtube guy that did edge 3 to OFR he told me that neither R2, R3 or R4 work, radius make the strings too high.
Either a toplok 3 (i dont know what this is, maybe an older ibanez nut, maybe edge 3 nut) or a gotoh 43 mm could work. Assuming he told me toplok, I might expect the nut is top mounted, not rear mounted, correct me if I'm wrong,
About shims, I do not want to to spend months and a fortune buying them, i do not know the shape but if someone can help it could save me some weekends.
I saw a Floyd Rose nut that appears to be 1-11/16 with a 15 radius (i think this is close to the ibanez 16 radius neck , although im not sure it is 16, im new to all this info)maybe this one could fit without much hassle.
Finaly I saw another nut in the same site 1-11/16 but claims to be without radius, do not know the meaning, maybe to customize it, or simply radius-less and totally flat to stay like that.
Sorry for the long post, its just a lot of questions and wish for answers. If you can help I will appreciate it. Everything in a nutshell would be :
Which nut works, 15 radius, no radius, gotoh 43 mm, leave current one or some ibanez nut from Rich? (If posible, how to modify R4, which is radius 10, to work properly)
Help me designing shims tell me basic shape or make a drwing (raw and no detalied accepted)
I leave you the sites
Beyond eleven (for OFR nuts)
Guitar parts depot (for gotoh)
Regards from Mexico
Vikingguitar is offline  
post #90 of 367 (permalink) Old 06-13-2009, 08:10 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daytona, FL
Posts: 1,917
Re: Edge3 Replacement Tremolo

I would leave the stock one on there before swapping to a 10" radius OFR nut, in fact I still have an Edge III nut on my OFR'd Xiphos.

Ibanez's Top Lok III is the Edge/LoPro Edge Locking nut used from the 80's until the Edge-Pro era. It mounts from the rear, and should work. Gotoh's 43mm rear-mount nut is the exact same thing as a Top Lok III, the cardboard on the packaging is the only difference.
toshiro is offline  
Reply

Tags
base plate , floyd rose , floyd rose pro , ibanez dealer , lopro trem , neck shim , pro edge , schaller trem , string lock

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to find replacement tremolo studs for a Lo-TRS II, help! arilr Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 2 07-30-2006 06:48 PM
Broken ZR tremolo... Is this common?? FastRedPonyCar Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 16 06-01-2006 04:50 PM
S470DX, broken tremolo :( Steve069 Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 10 05-16-2006 03:50 PM
Just a question... - about Tremolo Bridge Height Adjustment armindo__dias Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-03-2001 12:20 AM
Lo-pro Edge tremolo - replacement for 555 kylemac Gear and Equipment 7 07-24-2001 06:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome