Floyd Rose Studs W/ Edge Trem? - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2016, 03:30 AM
Dutchie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 325  -  iTrader: (0)

Floyd Rose Studs W/ Edge Trem?


Does anybody know if Floyd Rose Studs will work with a Edge Trem? I just bought a Charvel San Dimas body and its setup for a Floyd (Top mounted bridge with no pull-up rout) and I would like to put my spare Edge trem on it but I'm not sure if it will work.

Has anybody tried this before?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2016, 05:31 AM
Zoot  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Yorkshire,UK
Posts: 1,773  -  iTrader: (27)

Re: Floyd Rose Studs W/ Edge Trem?


No, totally different top profile.
quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2016, 10:41 AM
Drew  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,034  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Floyd Rose Studs W/ Edge Trem?


I've done the reverse, Edge studs with a Floyd Rose. It SHOULD work, though I'd caution you the Floyd Rose studs are likely harder than the Edge ones, and you may wear the knife edges abnormally fast. I haven't had any issues, but the OFR7 I'm using is definitely harder on the studs than the LoPro it replaced (which was falling to peices).

The OFR is actually a really great trem - my suggestion would be to grab one of these:

http://www.floydrose.com/catalog/upg...h-in-style-arm

...which fixes the one disadvantage of the OFR over the Edge, and give it a shot.
quote
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-2016, 03:33 AM
Dutchie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 325  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Floyd Rose Studs W/ Edge Trem?


Cheers for the advice guys... I do have a spare OFR & a Schaller Floyd too (but they are for other builds) but I've also got the Edge & its been sitting here for ages , so I was hoping to be able use it for this guitar. Kind of sucks that I cant use it, kind of had a feeling that would be the case...
Thanks again guys.
quote
Reply

Tags
floyd rose , ibanez edge trem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floyd rose bridge saddle block inserts compatible with Edge trem? gauchosilvertone Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 09-03-2011 01:00 PM
Help!! Floyd Rose studs (wtb) bcrich1975 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 06-06-2011 05:16 PM
Placement of floyd rose studs psp777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 02-07-2010 10:31 PM
Floyd Rose with Edge Studs Kinkymana Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-19-2008 12:00 AM
floyd rose studs compatible with edge stud screws jpascual Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 04-08-2005 11:25 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by