<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods

Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2002, 04:40 PM
Kev Brigden  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Preston, that little island called the UK
Posts: 496  -  iTrader: (0)

Just to clarify - you know what's comming... (changing p/u's


When placing the bridge back in to your guitar... what's the best settings to put the action to??? I am of course assuming that you will be needing to set your action once the bridge is replaced, (and here was me thinking it would just screw on???!!!)
quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2002, 03:12 AM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Just to clarify


[size=0.5](i hope i've understood your question...)[/size]

just strung the babe to pitch, keep the stud locks LOOSENED and tightens/loosens the studs 1/4 turn at a time, till the strings stop buzzing, or till you've reached the desired strings height.
remember to TIGHTENS the stud locks after the setup is done.
quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2002, 07:52 AM
7 Dying Trees  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: North London, innit bruv, safe, UK
Posts: 1,711  -  iTrader: (4)

Just to clarify


If you've got a trem system, then the best way to change pups is to unhook the springs in the trem cavity, and then remove the bridge with strings attached. Then put in the new pups (leave the wiring till later or do it when the trem is off) and then put back the trem, use the bar to lever it into the full pull up position, rest the thing on your lap and reattach the springs. Doing it this way should mean that you won't need to faff around with setup as due to the miracles of floating trems, the setup should pretty much be exactly the same as it was before

Otherwise, follow tips above. They'll work
quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2002, 10:03 AM
jeff l  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St. Augustine Beach, Fl
Posts: 554  -  iTrader: (0)

Just to clarify


If I'm changing pickups, I'll just stuff my homemade "bridge block" inside the bridge cavity (so the trem doesn't recess into the body) and then de-tune and remove the strings. Personally, I don't see the sense in pulling out the entire bridge to just get the strings out of the way. If you want to save the strings it's easy to just tie them up while you work on the guitar.

* * I'll then install the pickups, a fresh set of strings, tune up and remove the bridge block.
quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2002, 12:24 PM
nuno  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725  -  iTrader: (0)

Just to clarify


i actually didn't understand the question... ugh?
quote
Reply

Tags
floating trems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking to clarify Charvel model- late 80's screamndemon69 Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) 19 06-30-2011 09:23 AM
Can someone clarify these pickup terms to me pls? kokyman Pickups & wiring 7 01-31-2011 09:59 AM
Can someone clarify what is allowed when it comes to debating world affairs ?? IbanezFreak777 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 2 04-01-2008 01:38 AM
Cid's comming out of retirement show elcid Local Jams & Events 92 06-06-2007 05:23 PM
A different method of comming up with modes - Is this right? Kev Brigden Guitar Lessons & Music Theory 3 03-31-2002 02:30 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by