Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house) - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2015, 09:29 PM
beyondlimits1972  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6  -  iTrader: (0)

Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)


Ok I couldnt live with the unstable edge 3 any longer...So, I finally broke down and paid $300+ on a German made Schaller Locking Tremolo. I replaced the edge 3 bushings/studs, only to realize that now, the E strings dont quite line up like they should! The posts were 74mm for each Tremolo but now its not lining up! IF if search any more info on the web for tremolo's..Im going to check myself into the closest Nut Factory and burn all my guitars..... So frustrated! I had to route out a little bit of material to make the bridge fit, that wasnt a problem but now....I am at a complete stale mate! So pissed...paid $640 for this Ibanez Jem555 a few years ago, and now $300 for this damn bridge and I still have nothing to show for it. All I ever wanted was to have a locking bridge so I could play some cool Satriani style songs but I guess that dream has went down the drain!
quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2015, 12:37 AM
panix  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 983  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)


Have courage. Plug and re-drill will solve the alignment problem! Take it easy, your guitar will be just fine.
quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2015, 09:16 PM
beyondlimits1972  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)


Thanks for the encouragement... I needed that lol
quote
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-2015, 12:27 AM
lespauled  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 426  -  iTrader: (1)
Reviews: 15

Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)


You can do it. Just take your time. Do it slow, and you will be fine.
quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2015, 11:37 AM
(a)
RGTFanatic  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114  -  iTrader: (24)
Reviews: 2

Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)


Before doing anything else, get your post count up to 10 so you can shoot us some pics. You'd be surprised at what you can do with a little neck and nut shifting.
__________________

quote
Reply

Tags
edge 3 tremolo bridge , floyd rose , jem 555

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Edge Locking Tremolo Posts ardilla Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 01-13-2011 09:59 PM
Anyone ever replaced a locking nut with a standard nut? Random Hero Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 05-28-2009 08:03 AM
WTB Schaller or Fender locking tuners marianozz Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 6 10-04-2007 09:58 AM
WTB Fender/Schaller locking tuners Ayrton Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 09-04-2007 05:44 PM
Edge Pro Replaced By Lo Pro tchintao Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 02-22-2005 06:46 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by