Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house) - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-22-2015, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)

Ok I couldnt live with the unstable edge 3 any longer...So, I finally broke down and paid $300+ on a German made Schaller Locking Tremolo. I replaced the edge 3 bushings/studs, only to realize that now, the E strings dont quite line up like they should! The posts were 74mm for each Tremolo but now its not lining up! IF if search any more info on the web for tremolo's..Im going to check myself into the closest Nut Factory and burn all my guitars..... So frustrated! I had to route out a little bit of material to make the bridge fit, that wasnt a problem but now....I am at a complete stale mate! So pissed...paid $640 for this Ibanez Jem555 a few years ago, and now $300 for this damn bridge and I still have nothing to show for it. All I ever wanted was to have a locking bridge so I could play some cool Satriani style songs but I guess that dream has went down the drain!
beyondlimits1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-23-2015, 12:37 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 983
Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)

Have courage. Plug and re-drill will solve the alignment problem! Take it easy, your guitar will be just fine.
panix is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2015, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)

Thanks for the encouragement... I needed that lol
beyondlimits1972 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-30-2015, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 427
Reviews: 15
Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)

You can do it. Just take your time. Do it slow, and you will be fine.
lespauled is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-30-2015, 11:37 AM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114
Reviews: 2
Re: Replaced Edge 3 for a Schaller Locking Tremolo (nut-house)

Before doing anything else, get your post count up to 10 so you can shoot us some pics. You'd be surprised at what you can do with a little neck and nut shifting.


RGTFanatic is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge 3 tremolo bridge , floyd rose , jem 555

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Edge Locking Tremolo Posts ardilla Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 01-13-2011 09:59 PM
Anyone ever replaced a locking nut with a standard nut? Random Hero Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 05-28-2009 08:03 AM
WTB Schaller or Fender locking tuners marianozz Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 6 10-04-2007 09:58 AM
WTB Fender/Schaller locking tuners Ayrton Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 09-04-2007 05:44 PM
Edge Pro Replaced By Lo Pro tchintao Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 02-22-2005 06:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome