<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods

Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Old 11-28-2010, 12:16 PM

Setup Problems (Intonation etc.)

Wasn't sure where to post this but I'm having problems with my Ibanez Gio.I bought this guitar for 180 euros as a messing around instrument having sold my previous Washburns and Jacksons.

In the store and when I brought it home for the first week it played and sounded like a dream...BUT when I got around to putting on some fresh strings are tuning it (standard e) it just sounds and plays horribly.The action feels stiff and like it's straining away from the fretboard and all the notes sound horrible and harsh and hissy.The harmonics sound out of tune even thought my tuner tells me the strings are all in tune at 434 Hz...

I'm not a guitar expert but I suspect adjusting the bridge and truss rod might be the case...is this really basic? Am I missing a basic part of restringing a guitar?

Thanks for any tips!
Old 11-28-2010, 04:06 PM
Banned

Re: Setup Problems (Intonation etc.)

you must of done something
no reason for a guitar to change just because you changed the strings
except it should sound better.
Old 11-28-2010, 05:02 PM

Reviews: 120

Umm isnt standard tuning 440hz, not 434? That might be your problem, incorrectly set tuner.
Old 11-28-2010, 09:55 PM

No well, I think each string is supposed to be adjusted slightly differently....but tis hard to find a simple 101...maybe a lot of guitarists think you just swap out the strings and everything sounds the same with new ones, but it's not the case...

Is 4440 HZ standard? I tried using a lower frequency just to tak ethe harh tone down a notch or two.
Old 11-28-2010, 10:15 PM

Reviews: 120

440hz is standard concert pitch. You want to be tuning at 440 for your standard E tuning, otherwise yes your intonation will be out.