<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods

Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Old 12-28-2012, 12:42 PM

swirling tips

Hello fellow guitarists! I am new to this whole swirling thing but am fascinated by It and want to master it. I have been just messing around a bit doing testing dips and the problem I'm having is when I drop some paint in it stays in a glob on the top of the water and dissperses slowly in a thin light layer and very slowly gets darker but with the glob still in it. Now assuming my water temp and borax amount is correct is this just a brand of paint problem? I'm using americana gloss oil based enamel paints (cheap stuff). Any input will be appreciated.
Old 12-31-2012, 01:01 PM
(a)

Re: swirling tips

I've never heard of those paints... but I know that with the Humbrol paints I used some needed to be thinned out a bit.

The globs sound more like old paint than anything else or maybe paint that's not mixed and shaken enough. If it's spreading out but still has globs then the globs are probably dried bits of glob...I like saying globs
Old 12-31-2012, 03:20 PM
Banned

Reviews: 98

Use better paints.
Sounds like a thinning issue. Try the above mentioned brand.
Old 12-31-2012, 04:11 PM

Americana Gloss Enamels

Decorate ordinary glass items, flea market finds and more for your home. Use Americana Gloss Enamels for all of your projects.

Our versatile new gloss paint is perfect for painting glassware, wood items as well as a variety of other surfaces.
Embellish or personalize glass, ceramic and wood ornaments for holiday gift giving.
Painted glassware may be baked for increased durability.
Goes equally well on porous surfaces-no sealer required.
Colors match our regular Americana Acrylics with the same name.

The "no sealer required" tells me this paint is thick or has something that makes it glob in your water.