<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods

Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Old 01-23-2013, 06:40 PM

Trem seems too high

Good evening all,

I am a newbie with the guitar and had a question. I took my RG350MDX in to a shop to change the strings as I am not comfortable changing them on the adjustable trem.

After getting it home, I appears the trem is much higher than it was previously. I can slip the tip of my finger under the trem. Should I be concerned that the high trem setting my put undue stress on the set up within the guitar and cause the setup to pull free? The action is a bit higher than I am accustomed, but I can live with that.

I was going to take it to another shop for the adjusment, but would prefer not as I would be without my guitar for a few days.

Thanks
Old 01-23-2013, 08:46 PM
(a)

Reviews: 2

Re: Trem seems too high

You shouldn't have any fear of the guitar being harmed........ it'll be fine. Having the action too high for your comfort is no good though. You can easily fix it yourself with the tools that came new with your guitar.

Don't be afraid of your own guitar. Make yourself comfortable with it and it's needs. A basic setup procedure should be learned by everyone with a guitar, at least that's my opinion.

Spend a few hours reading over Rich's tech articles. He spent a massive amount of time putting these together just for us Ibby players. Seriously, everything you need to know from basic to advanced setup is in there. I swear, it should be made into a manual and distributed with every new Ibanez guitar!!!

Here ya go CG............ Welcome to Jemsite man!!!
http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/index.htm

Old 01-23-2013, 10:10 PM

Thanks for the help. It is greatly appreciated.
Old 01-24-2013, 12:53 PM

Reviews: 2