<back   Jemsite > Players, People, Music and Tours > Guitar Lessons & Music Theory

Guitar Lessons & Music Theory Post any type of guitar or music lessons, theory and other learning methods.

Old 12-04-2006, 12:48 AM

John Petrucci Scales/ Modes

Hey guys just wondering what scales or modes mr petrucci uses. Also if you no what steve vai uses or satriani. Any of those type of guys.
Old 12-04-2006, 12:56 AM

Re: John Petrucci Scales/ Modes

petrucci uses B minor and D dorian alot and E magor and a bit of B phrygian on the seven string stuff, Vai uses alot of lydian
Old 12-04-2006, 01:04 AM

cool thanks dude keep the infor coming guys.
Old 12-04-2006, 01:11 AM
(a)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crevis View Post
E magor
I want to learn this new scale
Old 12-04-2006, 10:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mi2tom View Post
Damn....you beat me to that one
Old 12-04-2006, 10:54 AM

i am no petrucci expert but just try to identify his chords through thier progression , and know your key tones because as you know john uses a lot of chromatic stuff , that is cool just as long as you remeber to emphasise the chord tone your playing over . the same really goes for anyone . i know off the top of my head that starry night is a pentatonic. joe uses a lot of pentatonic stuff , so does eric johnson . it is just in the phrasing and selection and chord tones . not hard stuff to get just hard to apply sometimes
Old 12-04-2006, 11:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.arledge View Post