<back   Jemsite > Players, People, Music and Tours > Guitar Lessons & Music Theory

Guitar Lessons & Music Theory Post any type of guitar or music lessons, theory and other learning methods.

Old 11-30-2012, 07:22 PM

more theory questions

ive never been taught theory and im really studying hard but every now and then come up against confusion, is this right

7th chord is a major chord with an added flattened seventh,
Major 7th is the 7th note of major scale added to the chord
Minor 7th is flattened 3rd and 7th note added to the chord
Old 11-30-2012, 11:16 PM

Reviews: 2

Re: more theory questions

all over it. An easier way to write it is like this (I just use X to substitute the chord name)
X7= 1-3-5-b7
XM7= 1-3-5-7
Xm7=1-b3-5-b7

I used to think that an A7 = AM7, then when i understood my scales and how to build chords, and found that major 7, I think i cried a little by how good that chord sounds and how long i went without it.
Old 12-01-2012, 12:21 PM

cheers man, ive been playing for years and never really learned any theory just played, now i really wanna learn theory, im just using the internet but sometimes the information can be different from site to site, any good sites?
Old 12-01-2012, 07:29 PM

Reviews: 2

Yeah i did the same thing, you'll cotton on pretty quick.

Most of my learning was through guitar pro's scales feature. I just loaded up a scale, built a chord (make notes on the intervals of your notes from the root) and tried to guess the chord name before i go to the chord chart.

Another good thing to do is to get you're guitar, build a chord one note at a time (without any scale in mind), and explore unusual fingerings and tonalities, then try to figure out the chord name, write it into guitar pro, hit the chord creator and see what it says.

Also, a chord can have many different names based on what the context is (the root is not always the lowest note!).