When you started and what inspired you... - Jemsite
Guitar Lessons & Music Theory Post any type of guitar or music lessons, theory and other learning methods.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-05-2007, 07:14 PM Thread Starter

When you started and what inspired you...

Hey guys...just wondering when everyone started playing guitar or music in general and for how long?? Also, who/what inspired you to pick up an instrument?

I started playing when I was 12 and have been playing for close to 9 years now. I picked up the guitar because I discovered Metallica. I quickly learned every song I could get the tabs for. My taste has since broadened and matured to include many influences including vai, satch, gilbert, etc and a lot of non-guitar music. I pray to God my love affair with the guitar never ends...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-05-2007, 09:35 PM

Re: When you started and what inspired you...

I started playing in 1978. I was lucky enough to have some really cool teachers who turned me on to people I would never have heard of otherwise like Al Di Meola, George Benson,Chet Atkins,Paco de Lucia.
I was inspired by most of the famous players at the time. It was a crazy time every few months something new was happening: Van Halen with tapping, Brad Gillis with the floyd Rose , Jeff Watson with the eight finger tapping, Randy Rhoads playing the first really sophisticated metal, Yngwie with his pedal tones, sweeping, dimished arpeggios, harmonic minor runs.
Then the whole west coast L.A. Scene hit: George Lynch, Warren Di Martini, Vitto Bratta, Reb Beach . I had burned out on "Hair Metal" and started listing to Fusion like Di Meola, Steve Morse, Allan Holdsworth. Stevie Ray Vaughn came out and just tore it up.