<back   Jemsite > Buy, Sell or Trade > Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk

Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk Not for posting JEM/UV ads. Not for posting dealer/broker ads. Not for advertising ebay auctions. This is to chat about resellers, various gear in question, odd items or the people selling them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:36 AM
satchmo  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (1)

Any thoughts on this JEM?


#280222825855

Seems way to cheap to me, especially by UK standards and the lack of any decent photos does little to make me think it's genuine.
quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:49 AM
(a)
Passion_and_Warfare  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hartlepool, England
Posts: 1,690  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


It's just a rubbish fake mate and some muppets are blind if they cannot tell it's a fake lol
quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:36 AM
satchmo  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


I'm sure you're right but how in the hell can you tell from that crap photo?
quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:59 AM
(a)
Lordiesel  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 448  -  iTrader: (1)
Images: 1

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


You can tell from the ****ty inlays and the bridge. Poor sucker, the person that is paying 400 pounds for that.
quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 12:48 PM
shreddersymphony  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,482  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


It sold for US $1649 (820 pounds). There's no way you can tell anything about the inlays from a picture thats like an inch by a half inch. Not to mention that it almost looks like a stock photo from somewhere, lol. I hope it isnt a fake, because I'd feel like a moron if i spent 1700 bucks on a fake JEM. That'll ruin yer day.
quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:17 PM
satchmo  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Out of interest I had a scout around and came across this....

http://www.chrisguitars.com/ibanez.html

If you check out item 12 on the list I think you'll find it bears an uncanny resemblance to the item in question.
quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:41 PM
(a)
jb4674  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,010  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 6

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Quote:
Originally Posted by shreddersymphony View Post
It sold for US $1649 (820 pounds). There's no way you can tell anything about the inlays from a picture thats like an inch by a half inch. Not to mention that it almost looks like a stock photo from somewhere, lol. I hope it isnt a fake, because I'd feel like a moron if i spent 1700 bucks on a fake JEM. That'll ruin yer day.
you can always zoom in the picture and see the details (although it gets pixelated).

That guitar is def. not the real thing. The stud screws are gold, the fine tures are gold and the arm holder is OFR style. I pity the fool who fell for that.

Jimmy
quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:50 PM
(a)
Passion_and_Warfare  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hartlepool, England
Posts: 1,690  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Even tough the image is sh*t, I could still easily tell it was a fake. The Nobhead who paid for it must be a right stupid tit.
quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:57 PM
Rich  is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 19,352  -  iTrader: (21)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Instead of everybody talking about how stupid the "winner" is, first step is to always politely alert him [done] that he has bought a fake so that hopefully he can Paypal claim his money back in case he's already paid.

Watchdogs are supposed to help protect people. If you want to talk trash about them afterwards I guess that's up to you, as long as you did your good deed first
quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:59 PM
moebius  is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,041  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Good point Rich.
quote
  #11  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:08 PM
(a)
Passion_and_Warfare  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hartlepool, England
Posts: 1,690  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Doesn't excuse their ignorance of making sure everything is fully legitamate.
quote
  #12  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:25 PM
satchmo  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


I was gonna drop him a line but see Rich has already beat me to it - good man.

I can kind of sympathise with the guy because we're not all experts and he probably thought he was getting the deal of the century, however a few alarm bells should have rung.
quote
  #13  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:52 PM
moebius  is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,041  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Passion_and_Warfare View Post
Doesn't excuse their ignorance of making sure everything is fully legitamate.
Not sure how the lay person who is not familiar with jems would be able to make sure everything is fully legitimate. Obviously a lot of people can't which is why these listing exist. Who knows, maybe it was bid on by someone who wanted to buy it as a gift for someone else. Don't assume the bidder was a guitar player who should have known better. Hell, maybe he/she asked all the right questions and was still lied to. It is also possible the picture is not even of the guitar being sold. The seller has a positive feedback score which is also misleading.
Just saying.
quote
  #14  
Old 05-01-2008, 03:27 PM
(a)
Passion_and_Warfare  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hartlepool, England
Posts: 1,690  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


I am just being a bit harsh lol
quote
  #15  
Old 05-01-2008, 03:29 PM
shreddersymphony  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,482  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Any thoughts on this JEM?


Quote:
Originally Posted by satchmo View Post
I was gonna drop him a line but see Rich has already beat me to it - good man.

I can kind of sympathise with the guy because we're not all experts and he probably thought he was getting the deal of the century, however a few alarm bells should have rung.
I think the seller will probably be fair with the guy, he's got good feedback and assuming this is a fake I get the feeling he (the seller) didnt know.
quote
Reply

Tags
arm holder

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Ibanez Jem 7vwh neck, jem replacement body and parts wemedge Classified Ads: Ibanez JEM/UV Guitars 6 04-24-2008 05:06 PM
Custom Jem .. your thoughts please.... mooro JEM and Universe Guitars 14 02-08-2008 03:01 PM
Autographing Jem and Universe - thoughts? Shibi-Wan JEM and Universe Guitars 8 03-03-2005 01:20 AM
Jem Quality Silktone JEM and Universe Guitars 8 09-30-2003 10:39 AM
Cheapy new JEM switches - New vs Old JEM pickup selectors rikkbeatty JEM and Universe Guitars 13 09-04-2001 01:51 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com