<back   Jemsite > Buy, Sell or Trade > Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk

Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk Not for posting JEM/UV ads. Not for posting dealer/broker ads. Not for advertising ebay auctions. This is to chat about resellers, various gear in question, odd items or the people selling them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:33 PM
tony777  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 296  -  iTrader: (3)
Reviews: 1

ebay item no: 3766210619 would you buy this one?


Possible fraud?????

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...10619&amp;rd=1

I haven't asked him any question, but this looks too good to be true, and there's no feedbacks, and he's only accepting cash or checks.
what do you think??

Tony
quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2004, 08:07 PM
krizz  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eindhoven - The Netherlands
Posts: 535  -  iTrader: (0)
Mmm...list prices I see are all around $1300,- this looks a bit too good to be true...
quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2004, 08:24 PM
phlame  is offline
Suspension: Multiple Users
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 916  -  iTrader: (2)
Definetly a con
quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2004, 01:07 AM
Dylan7620  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: snohomish washington
Posts: 636  -  iTrader: (1)
this still has 4 days left, the price will shoot up dont worry
quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2004, 01:17 AM
littlegreenman  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,626  -  iTrader: (4)
How can you say definitely a con? The 0 feedback is a warning, but the auction still has 4 and a half days to go. If they started the auction at $1 of course it's low. Wait until the end, it'll probably reach $1000. Yes there are red flags when it's a 0 feedback seller, but if you go through life thinking every person who hasn't PROVED themselves first is a con, you'll never get anywhere
quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2004, 01:54 AM
Rich  is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 19,352  -  iTrader: (21)
How do you know it's a con?

Real people that sell a guitar actually have something to say about it, not copy some promo schtick.

Real sellers [especially those with 0 feedback] would put where they were actually from in the auction, not US US. They don't want any "locals" thinking they can pick it up.

Real sellers [especially first time sellers] are NOT going to trust ebay enough to run a no reserve auction on an expensive item.

Typical cons list one item per ID only.

The phone # (64 319-2193 in the users contact info has an area code that doesn't exist.

Come on people, does ANYBODY have any street smarts?! [besides phlame and krizz ]
quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2004, 03:37 AM
littlegreenman  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,626  -  iTrader: (4)
alright, I didn't look that deep, in fact, I didn't look at the auction for more than the pretty picture, I just remember a time when I was a 0 feedback person and nobody wanted to deal with me either, next time I"ll read all the auction before I open my mouth :P
quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2004, 03:56 AM
bpd111  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Maine (USA)
Posts: 1,628  -  iTrader: (7)
I guess the question has been answered, but I wouldn't go near that auction for a number of reasons. Zero feedback, the picture is clearly not the item being sold, and no comment at all from the seller on the item's condition. Independently, those things would get my guard up a bit, but together my policy is to avoid like the plague.
quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2004, 08:30 AM
BeastofLove  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 795  -  iTrader: (0)
Just ask the seller for more pics, their phone number, etc. etc. Do what you can to verify that they exist.
There was a similar seemingly sketchy eBay auction I saw last year that many people avoided, and that's how I scored a brand new RGT3120 for $500. Well, not really, but I swapped an ok condition USRG30 that cost me under $500 for his RGT.

So if you want it, ask the questions and do the groundwork to make sure the sale is legit. Many times, it is.

-Ben
quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com