<back   Jemsite > Buy, Sell or Trade > Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk

Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk Not for posting JEM/UV ads. Not for posting dealer/broker ads. Not for advertising ebay auctions. This is to chat about resellers, various gear in question, odd items or the people selling them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2004, 12:53 PM
VENOMOUS  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 91  -  iTrader: (0)

HAHA I was waiting for one of these!!!


i was just thinking when i would get a email like this.

From: mick_chucks@ilovesydney.com.au
To: stupidpothead@drugsmakemecool.com
Subject: Question for seller -- Item #2373289981
Date: Thu 01/15/04 08:31 AM

Hello,

I would like to own your IBANEZ UNIVERSE UV77MC STEVE VAI MODEL
My offer for this item is US $ 2.500.00
If my offer accepted, let me know about shipment cost to Indonesia using
FedEx Priority Service.
My prefered payment method is using my Credit Card.
I looking forward for your reply.

Thanks for your time.

--------------------

HAHAHAHA!!!!!! WHAT A DUMBASS
quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2004, 01:01 PM
darren wilson  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,190  -  iTrader: (0)
Reply with:

"I WOULD LIKE TO OWN YOUR CASH. I WILL GLADLY ACCEPT YOUR OFFER. MY PREFERRED METHOD OF PAYMENT IS CASH. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR CASH."
quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2004, 01:05 PM
VENOMOUS  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 91  -  iTrader: (0)
lol i will , how much do you want to bet i dont get a respons
quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2004, 03:28 PM
(a)
jim777  is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 8,943  -  iTrader: (28)
Ah well, another virginity gone, eh?

jim
quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2004, 02:26 PM
VENOMOUS  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 91  -  iTrader: (0)
how do these A*#holes expect to rip me off when they dont answer my emails?
quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2004, 12:13 AM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,877  -  iTrader: (0)
Aaaaaaaaaaaaah-hahahahahahhahaa. I just had to read this little exchange out at the office. Everyone had a jolly laugh.
quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2004, 03:59 PM
jelyfinger  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 23  -  iTrader: (0)
that is the classic Indonesian scam everyone is on guard about! Love the reply! Ya think he'll be scratchin' his head over that comment!...lol
quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2004, 08:27 PM
Type O-  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 35  -  iTrader: (2)
I just got my first ebay scam email earlier today. It is different than the ones listed in this post, but one of the scams I am sure that we have all heard of or seen. I forwarded it to my ISP's abuse center as well as ebay's spoof center. I will insert the email below. I have appended the actual URL behind the link in the email so you can check it out. You have to see all of the information these jack*sses are trying to get from people. The IP address in the URL resolves to mightyshep.com. I checked the mail header and found that the mail originated from CYBER ([203.237.224.146]) through www.chinamedexpo.com ([202.99.16.21]). Beware everyone...


Dear eBay member


We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a
foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was hijacked
by a third party without your authorization.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts
may have been initiated by you.
However, if you are the rightful holder of the account, click on the link below,
fill the form and then submit as we try to verify your identity.

http://cgi3.ebay.com//aw-cgi/eBayISA...VERified2.html

http://66.206.7.193/scgi-bin/eBayISA...VERified1.html


The log in attempt was made from:
IP address: 68.97.63.109
ISP host: ip68-97-63-109.ok.ok.cox.net


If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend
your account.

We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated and we
strongly recommend not to make any changes to your account in that time.

If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account
holder, please be aware that it is in violation of eBay policy to represent
oneself as another eBay user. Such action may also be in violation of
local, national, and/or international law. eBay is committed to assist
law enforcement with any inquires related to attempts to misappropriate
personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft.
Information will be provided at the request of law enforcement agencies to
ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.

*Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.

Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.


Regards,

Safeharbor Department
eBay Inc.
quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2004, 04:13 PM
Jeroenn  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 873  -  iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Type O-


If you snip everything starting from scgi-bin etc, you get the dude's homepage. Now either his webspace got abused, or he owns the scam site...


Organization:
Mightyshep Inc.
Mike Shepard
1247 Anystreet
Gomersville, il 58746
US
Phone: 312-526-5327
Email: mikeshepard5@cox.net

Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com

Domain Name: MIGHTYSHEP.COM

Created on..............: Fri, Jun 23, 2000
Expires on..............: Wed, Jun 23, 2004
Record last updated on..: Fri, Mar 05, 2004

Administrative Contact:
Mightyshep Inc.
Mike Shepard
1247 Anystreet
Gomersville, il 58746
US
Phone: 312-526-5327
Email: mikeshepard5@cox.net

Technical Contact:
Mightyshep Inc.
Mike Shepard
1247 Anystreet
Gomersville, il 58746
US
Phone: 312-526-5327
Email: mikeshepard5@cox.net

Zone Contact:
Mightyshep Inc.
Mike Shepard
1247 Anystreet
Gomersville, il 58746
US
Phone: 312-526-5327
Email: mikeshepard5@cox.net

********** mailed to owner of the site **********
Hi,
Just visited your site www.mightyshep.com

Can you explain this:
http://www.mightyshep.com/scgi-bin/e...VERified1.html

Regards,
--
Jeroen
quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2004, 01:43 AM
Type O-  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 35  -  iTrader: (2)
I didn't think about trying to go to his home page. I did the WHOIS lookup and thought the address looked pretty suspicious (Anystreet ). I didn't want to tip the guy off that someone was on to him if the owner of the web site and the scam were one in the same. Obviously, ebay isn't doing a whole lot about it since the page is still up. I wonder if the hosting ISP would do anything about it if notified.
quote
  #11  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:20 AM
darren wilson  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,190  -  iTrader: (0)
Have you reported it to eBay yet?
quote
  #12  
Old 03-22-2004, 01:44 AM
Type O-  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 35  -  iTrader: (2)
Darren,

Yes, I forwarded the entire email to eBay at the spoof address they have on their site. I received an email from the Safe Harbor group letting me know that they received my email. A little while later I received another email from them saying that the email I forwarded to them definitely did not originate from eBay and they were looking into the issue. I also forwarded the email to my ISP's abuse center hoping they might forward it to the proper authorities. I guess I could forward the email to the FTC, but I don't know if they would do anything about it either. For goodness sake, the web page is still up!
quote
  #13  
Old 03-22-2004, 06:29 AM
Jeroenn  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 873  -  iTrader: (1)
Hey,

Why don't you go ahead and post a complaint at

abuse@twtelecom.net

that seems to be the dude's ISP (or upstream provider).
Maybe that helps.
quote
Reply

Tags
steve vai

 
You may also search for:

People searched for this, also searched for these:

how long to wait for waiting custom charges parcleforce

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com