Sponsor Us
About Us
Gallery
Community Blog
Forums
Home
Jemsite
>
Buy, Sell or Trade
>
Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk
Too good to be true?
User Name
Remember Me?
Password
Register
FAQ
Calendar
iTrader
Search
Today's Posts
Mark Forums Read
Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk
Not for posting JEM/UV ads. Not for posting dealer/broker ads. Not for advertising ebay auctions. This is to chat about resellers, various gear in question, odd items or the people selling them.
Go to Page...
Registered Members don't see these ads.
Register now
it's free!
Thread Tools
Display Modes
#
1
09-10-2003, 05:12 PM
RG-Head
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: U.K
Posts: 147 - iTrader: (
0
)
Too good to be true?
On evilbay.co.uk there's a seller selling 2 RG320 guitars in mint condition with gig bag and with no reserve starting at £1, but the sellers rating is 0 and he/she joined 28th july 2003 and will only post to U.K
Do you people think this is a con? i mean i know for a fact 95% sure these 2 RG320's will not go for more than £200 (2 months ago, an RG320 was up for £250 and no one won it) and there's 6 days left in the auction too.
What do you people think?
Registered Members don't see these ads.
Register now
it's free!
RG-Head
View Public Profile
Find all posts by RG-Head
#
2
09-10-2003, 06:12 PM
darren wilson
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,624 - iTrader: (
0
)
I'm not sure what you're asking.
If a seller were offering something for an unreasonably low fixed selling price, yes, i'd be inclined to say "too good to be true".
But the nature of auctions is that the guitars will fetch what people are willing to pay. A no-reserve, low-opening-bid auction is the purest, simplest kind of auction. This is the way auctions have always worked. **** just seems to have shifted poeple's expectations somewhat.
You may get lucky and have nobody will bid on the item you're watching, and you could pick it up for a sweet price. Or the bidding could be fast and furious (which is more likely to happen on a no-reserve auction with a low opening bid) and the price could run up to and beyond the market value.
If you're interested, keep an eye on it, and put in a low-ball bid near the end. But with no bids and six days to go, there's no way to determine if it's a good deal or not, because the closing price could end up anywhere. Don't be surprised if it ends up at or very near the selling price of other equivalent items have gone for in the recent past.
Is it a con? Well, everybody has to do their first **** transaction at some point. Just do your due diligence to cover your ass if you decide to buy.
darren wilson
View Public Profile
Visit darren wilson's homepage!
Find all posts by darren wilson
#
3
09-10-2003, 06:18 PM
RG-Head
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: U.K
Posts: 147 - iTrader: (
0
)
well i'm just asking for opinions about the 2 auctions if it's a yes or a no good auctions. I dunno if it's just me i just find it weird to find an RG320 (which isn't going to get what it's worth in the market these days) with no reserve for £1 and seller of 0 rating.
Well i am just gonna watch the auctions carefully, even if this is a con, i'll get the sellers address, besides he lives in London, U.K and so do i
so if anything does go wrong, i'll track him down :P
RG-Head
View Public Profile
Find all posts by RG-Head
#
4
09-11-2003, 01:54 AM
Ibateur
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,127 - iTrader: (
3
)
Its possible the person who created the auction didn't/doesn't know how to set a reserve price.
Things to worry about
:
1) No pictures posted
2) "Loads of Upgrades"
Starting at 0 GBP seems strange, but you might just want to bet up to your maximum risky allowance.
If you win, you have a possibly a project guitar, if not, well ...
Ibateur
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Ibateur
#
5
09-11-2003, 05:34 AM
RG-Head
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: U.K
Posts: 147 - iTrader: (
0
)
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Ibateur
Its possible the person who created the auction didn't/doesn't know how to set a reserve price.
Things to worry about
:
1) No pictures posted
2) "Loads of Upgrades"
Starting at 0 GBP seems strange, but you might just want to bet up to your maximum risky allowance.
If you win, you have a possibly a project guitar, if not, well ...
i e-mailed the seller for pictures and what upgrades are there? no reply yet...
RG-Head
View Public Profile
Find all posts by RG-Head
#
6
09-11-2003, 07:45 AM
darren wilson
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,624 - iTrader: (
0
)
The "upgrades" are probably a handful of guitar picks, and extra set of no-name strings and a crappy gig bag.
darren wilson
View Public Profile
Visit darren wilson's homepage!
Find all posts by darren wilson
Bookmarks
Digg
del.icio.us
StumbleUpon
Google
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version
Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode
Posting Rules
You
may not
post new threads
You
may not
post replies
You
may not
post attachments
You
may not
edit your posts
BB code
is
On
Smilies
are
On
[IMG]
code is
On
HTML code is
Off
Sitemap:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
All times are GMT -4. The time now is
08:41 AM
.
Contact Us
-
Jemsite.com: Ibanez JEM/UV guitars & more
-
Archive
-
Privacy Statement
-
Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com