2 amps are better than one ? - Jemsite
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 72
2 amps are better than one ?

Right just because im a little bored and been watching a joe bonamassa dvd, got to thinking why have one amp when you can have two, ...also happens that ive seen a rather tasty amp id like to buy....

but my question is does this rig diagram make sense ? are there any problems i might have over looked etc.... and input would be great

Toadster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 07:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Run the modulation effects through the respective amp's effects loop.
AlaskaBat is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 977
Reviews: 15
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post
Run the modulation effects through the respective amp's effects loop.
This ^^^^^ although why not run it as a stereo setup instead.
silverctr is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 08:30 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverctr View Post
This ^^^^^ although why not run it as a stereo setup instead.
I was thinking that too, but running them separately gives more tonal flavors.
AlaskaBat is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 09:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: America
Posts: 30
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Steve Vai does something like this:
http://www.ibanez.com/steves_rig
peterjbrown96 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2012, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 72
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

thanks for the replys guys and yea would probly like to run the effects through the effects loop unfortunately the amp im using doesnt have one lol....

only other thing would the delay pedal work correctly after the flanger/ before the distortion ?
Toadster is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2012, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 72
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjbrown96 View Post
Steve Vai does something like this:
http://www.ibanez.com/steves_rig
and wow !!! that might be outta my budget lol !!! a man can dream tho !!
Toadster is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2012, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: America
Posts: 30
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadster View Post
thanks for the replys guys and yea would probly like to run the effects through the effects loop unfortunately the amp im using doesnt have one lol....

only other thing would the delay pedal work correctly after the flanger/ before the distortion ?
after the flanger and before the distortion...
in short yeah it would work, but it may not be the best.

I've found it's best to put delay at/near the very end of your effects loop if you'r looking for a more natural sound; it could sound somewhat artificial otherwise.

I've found that on a really gainy channel, however, this particular arrangement causes (on my particular amp) a drop in distortion on the delayed material rather than volume. this will depend on whether you have a 'gain' box or a 'distortion' box; i wouldn't reccomend it with the latter,

Don't take my word for it though. GET OUT THERE AND TRY IT!!!
peterjbrown96 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2012, 07:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: 2 amps are better than one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadster View Post
thanks for the replys guys and yea would probly like to run the effects through the effects loop unfortunately the amp im using doesnt have one lol....

only other thing would the delay pedal work correctly after the flanger/ before the distortion ?
If you're handy with a soldering iron--you can make a pedal loop switcher.
AlaskaBat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackstar Amps unveil HT-5 Amps at MusikMesse Milo Gear and Equipment 5 04-06-2011 09:57 PM
Need advice - rack mount amps -normal amps ? Jaden Gear and Equipment 7 10-20-2008 07:40 AM
Car Audio Amps vs. Guitar Amps Jeff Gear and Equipment 8 09-01-2003 07:47 AM
Can someone explain to me power amps and pre amps? BrianH Gear and Equipment 12 06-27-2002 11:40 AM
Amps, amps and more amps... - Suggestions...there are too ma carlos seo Gear and Equipment 4 05-17-2001 01:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome