ada-mp1 - Jemsite
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: newcastle.england
Posts: 2,575
ada-mp1

evening folks.ive just watched a few vids on youtube about this ada-mp1.all this rack stuff is new to me as ive always played combo amps.ok then these ada-mp1 has it got built in effects,distortion,chorus,reverb ect.will i need a cabnet or will i be able to plug it into the back of a amp.i really like the tone from the ada very 1980s like.this is the sound (tone) ive been looking for since the day i started playing guitar.ive never dabbled in rack pre amps before so basicly havent a clue.can anyone tell me more about the ada-mp1,how to set it up,what i need ect ect.nice 1 lads n lasses rob
rob777vdy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:05 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birkerød, Danmark
Posts: 183
Re: ada-mp1

The Ada MP1 is, as far as I know, only an effect unit. So treat it like any other effect and you are fine.
Jacob K is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl (Naples during part of summer)
Posts: 4,103
Re: ada-mp1

It is a preamplifier, so you need a power amp and a cabinet. It is basically the second half of a head.
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob K View Post
The Ada MP1 is, as far as I know, only an effect unit. So treat it like any other effect and you are fine.
The MP-1 is a preamp. The only effect it has is chorus but it itself is not an effects device. You would not want to run it through an amp's effects loop like a pedal or multi FX processor.
toneboy is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:31 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbieguitarmaker View Post
It is a preamplifier, so you need a power amp and a cabinet. It is basically the second half of a head.
While the optimal set-up is as you described, you can run an MP-1 into the FX Return (of an amp's effects loop) or the Power Amp Input on amp's that have such an input.

BTW, if you want to learn everything and anything about MP-1s (or all of ADA's old preamps), just Google "ADA Depot".

I've got 3 MP-1s I love (I'm stuck in the 80s). I've got a stock one with a transformer upgrade (for increased dynamics), a 3TM (3 tube mod) which gives a great Racer X tone and a 3TM Ultra (transformer upgrade, 3 tube mod and a few other improvements). I thought about picking a few more but I'm hoping the resurrected ADA will come out with a new one sooner rather than later.
toneboy is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl (Naples during part of summer)
Posts: 4,103
Re: ada-mp1

^^^ That is what I will be doing on my Legacy for when I want some nice 80's tone
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birkerød, Danmark
Posts: 183
Re: ada-mp1

However, it can get uncontrollably loud if you don't have the output of the preamp set to a minimum!
Jacob K is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbieguitarmaker View Post
^^^ That is what I will be doing on my Legacy for when I want some nice 80's tone
Exactly and the nice thing about this set-up is you have a backup (to some degree). If the MP-1 goes down, you can just plug straight into the Legacy. I'm not inferring that MP-1s are problematic because they are incredibly robust but I always remember - 2 is 1 and 1 is one. Having a backup never hurts and always helps.
toneboy is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 05:38 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob K View Post
However, it can get uncontrollably loud if you don't have the output of the preamp set to a minimum!
??? I'm not sure what you mean by that so please explain.
toneboy is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 11:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 344
Re: ada-mp1

The MP1's are sick! I used to have a Mod4 MkII MP1 that I regret selling. Very versatile preamp. Nice cleans, great crunch tones, great lead tones, and great rhythm tones. The Mod4 MkII is the hot rodded Marshall mod, but I was easily able to dial in some Recto-like tones.

If I can find another at the steal of a price I got mine for, I'd jump on it in a second.

I notice talk of using an MP1 with a Legacy. I bought a Legacy while I still had and used my MP1. The MP1 sounded huge through my Legacy's power amp section, as opposed to the SS poweramp I paired my MP1 up with.

For anyone who might be interested. Here's an old recording I did using my Mod4 MkII. Cleans and lead are both the MP1.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...songID=4848525
Guitarmiester is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 05:21 AM
 
Jaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 2,465
Re: ada-mp1

Rob, all your questions answered here http://www.adadepot.com/forum/
Jaden is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 05:24 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: newcastle.england
Posts: 2,575
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitarmiester View Post
The MP1's are sick! I used to have a Mod4 MkII MP1 that I regret selling. Very versatile preamp. Nice cleans, great crunch tones, great lead tones, and great rhythm tones. The Mod4 MkII is the hot rodded Marshall mod, but I was easily able to dial in some Recto-like tones.

If I can find another at the steal of a price I got mine for, I'd jump on it in a second.

I notice talk of using an MP1 with a Legacy. I bought a Legacy while I still had and used my MP1. The MP1 sounded huge through my Legacy's power amp section, as opposed to the SS poweramp I paired my MP1 up with.

For anyone who might be interested. Here's an old recording I did using my Mod4 MkII. Cleans and lead are both the MP1.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...songID=4848525
some great stuff there steve.thanks everyone for all the input.im deffo thinking about buying a ada mp1,found what ive been looking for,for many years.awsome bit of kit.thanks again folks,rob
rob777vdy is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 08:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Adelaide , Australia
Posts: 1,289
Re: ada-mp1

I've loved ADA's since day one and borroweed a friends a few times years back & loved it!
Though at the time new equippment was coming out so when i was cashed up i went with newer products.So after about 10 years and probably $10,000 worth of modern gear i ended up with the best tone i ever owned,an ADA!! I wish i had just bought one in the first place and saved myself all that searching! Enjoy it mate
corey j grieve is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 11:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 344
Re: ada-mp1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanez777vbk View Post
some great stuff there steve.thanks everyone for all the input.im deffo thinking about buying a ada mp1,found what ive been looking for,for many years.awsome bit of kit.thanks again folks,rob
You're welcome. I used to have a few heavy rhythm clips. I had to reformat my desktop the other day and they were most likely saved on the comp instead of a flash drive that I usually save to. I'll be sure to post them if I find them.
Guitarmiester is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 11:42 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2,221
Re: ada-mp1

Hey guys, can it be useful plugged straight into the an amp? I have a lil Fender bass combo that works great at home volume, ive been trying different lil amps and i just cant find something that beats its cleans... thing is, it doesnt have a distortion channel, and i just cant find some pedal that sounds nice thru... i was thinking maybe this could work?


Thanx... hope its clear
marianozz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome