ada-mp1 - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Old 01-21-2009, 05:58 PM
Banned

ada-mp1

evening folks.ive just watched a few vids on youtube about this ada-mp1.all this rack stuff is new to me as ive always played combo amps.ok then these ada-mp1 has it got built in effects,distortion,chorus,reverb ect.will i need a cabnet or will i be able to plug it into the back of a amp.i really like the tone from the ada very 1980s like.this is the sound (tone) ive been looking for since the day i started playing guitar.ive never dabbled in rack pre amps before so basicly havent a clue.can anyone tell me more about the ada-mp1,how to set it up,what i need ect ect.nice 1 lads n lasses rob
Old 01-21-2009, 06:05 PM

Re: ada-mp1

The Ada MP1 is, as far as I know, only an effect unit. So treat it like any other effect and you are fine.
Old 01-21-2009, 06:23 PM

It is a preamplifier, so you need a power amp and a cabinet. It is basically the second half of a head.
Old 01-21-2009, 06:29 PM

Reviews: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob K View Post
The Ada MP1 is, as far as I know, only an effect unit. So treat it like any other effect and you are fine.
The MP-1 is a preamp. The only effect it has is chorus but it itself is not an effects device. You would not want to run it through an amp's effects loop like a pedal or multi FX processor.
Old 01-21-2009, 06:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbieguitarmaker View Post
It is a preamplifier, so you need a power amp and a cabinet. It is basically the second half of a head.
While the optimal set-up is as you described, you can run an MP-1 into the FX Return (of an amp's effects loop) or the Power Amp Input on amp's that have such an input.

BTW, if you want to learn everything and anything about MP-1s (or all of ADA's old preamps), just Google "ADA Depot".