<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment

Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2002, 02:33 PM
satchman888  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guadalajara
Posts: 12  -  iTrader: (0)

Audiophile 2496


I am a newbie to computer recording. I want a cheap soundcard that will record some good stuff ($200). THe Audiophile is around $160...Is it good?
I own a Yamaha EMX2000 mixer(powered). THanks
quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2002, 06:33 PM
Polaris20  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418  -  iTrader: (0)
Either the Audiophile or the Mia (which I own) is a good card. Very similar converters.

On the plus side, you can get the Audio Buddy for the Audiophile, which is quite cool.
quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2002, 10:51 PM
satchman888  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guadalajara
Posts: 12  -  iTrader: (0)
I have a question. If I have a powered mixer, do I need the preamp? Thanks.
quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2002, 10:52 PM
satchman888  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guadalajara
Posts: 12  -  iTrader: (0)
And... Does someone have a recorded example of the Audiophile 2496?
Thanks!
quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2002, 12:53 AM
bammbamm  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,197  -  iTrader: (17)
Reviews: 1
A powered mixer is only good for playing out live or monitoring your work. THe preamp is what sets up your signal to your ad/da card and then into your PC. DO NOT use the powered out into your sound card, you will cook it before you know what hit you.
Make sure you do some research before attempting something you're not familliar with !

Bamm
quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2002, 06:20 AM
Polaris20  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418  -  iTrader: (0)
Oh sorry, didn't see the mixer was powered. Definitely do not use a powered mixer for recording.

What Bamm said, you will fry the crap out of just about any recording card.
quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2002, 09:45 AM
satchman888  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guadalajara
Posts: 12  -  iTrader: (0)
Well, the powered mixer also has an output for connecting your headphones. I dont know if it will raise it to a good level though...Or should I simply get the audiobuddy?
quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2002, 11:23 AM
Polaris20  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418  -  iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by satchman888
Well, the powered mixer also has an output for connecting your headphones. I dont know if it will raise it to a good level though...Or should I simply get the audiobuddy?
For the $80 bucs the Audio Buddy costs, I would just play it safe and get that. That's what it's designed for.
quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2002, 02:56 PM
GuyCool  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset, England
Posts: 237  -  iTrader: (0)
I play through a POD into my 2496 with no problems, and a good audio result.

At the cheaper end of the market it is regarded (in the UK at least) as being very good.


Guy
quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2002, 09:54 AM
satchman888  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guadalajara
Posts: 12  -  iTrader: (0)
Hey guy, do you have any recorded clips that I can listen to?
Thanks,
Fer
quote
  #11  
Old 07-23-2002, 06:41 AM
GuyCool  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset, England
Posts: 237  -  iTrader: (0)
Satchman, to be honest, I don't know how to upload stuff to the net, and I don't have anything on mp3.com.
I would say that that the performance figures I have seen quoted for the 2496 show superior performance to the Creative Labs stuff, which at that price point is the obvious competition, although I think the new Terratec card is probably good too, and comes with a breakout box. With the 2496 there is an element of compatibility with the other midiman stuff which may be an advantage for future upgrades etc.

Incidentally, i've got a latency of 9ms, running Cubase 5.1 on a 800MHz/386 Mb system-good enough for monitoring through Cubase ie I can run effects 'live'.

Guy
quote
  #12  
Old 07-23-2002, 10:05 AM
grrrpoop  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 87  -  iTrader: (0)
GuyCool: What OS do you use, and is it an intel or AMD processor? actually, you don't mention whether it's a Mac or Windows based system!

I currently have the original SB Live! and I'm using an XP1800 (1.5Ghz) with 512mb ram on Win2K. I previously tried using Cubase VST on a 900mhz athlon, again 512mb ram but win98se and wasn't satisfied with the results, particularly how awkward it was to disable monitoring (couldn't get latency below 25ms without causing problems elsewhere..). I haven't bothered trying on this setup because I know that I'll still have the latency problem.

I'd like to get my machine set up like a Multitrack recorder, and a new soundcard would be nice but only if I can also play games with it - how compatible is the audiophile with games such as Q3, UnrealTournament, etc?

Also, which Terratec card with breakout box are u referring to?

Annnnd what's a good cheap place to buy all these goodies in the UK?

Edit: found an audio buddy for 89 - is that about right? and will the Audio Buddy connect up to any soundcard? Half my problem is hooking the damn amp up to the PC..
quote
  #13  
Old 07-23-2002, 09:32 PM
grrrpoop  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 87  -  iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyCool
I think the new Terratec card is probably good too, and comes with a breakout box.
Did you mean the Terratec DMX 6Fire 24/96 ? It has a nice Aluminium finish 5.25" breakout Bay that would look soooo nice in my Coolermaster case

It's 165 tho, and on top of that I'd need some interface between my amp and the PC - I don't think the breakout box can handle the amp signal on its own

Bah, too much choice..
quote
Reply

 
You may also search for:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by