G-system users, how do you connect yours? - Jemsite
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-21-2008, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brexit
Posts: 609
G-system users, how do you connect yours?

Hi,

SInce I've had my G-system I've always connected it so that the instrument connects direct to the G-system input, then I send from the 'insert' loop to my amp head, return from the amp FX send, then the G-system output goes to the amp FX return, so that I'm 'inserting' the amps' pre-amp before the bulk of the G-system effects.

However I've slowly grown to dislike the resulting effect on my tone, its not as organic and 'natural' as before I started using the G-system, so today I took the much simpler route of instrument direct to the amp input and just use the g-sysem via the fx loop, somehow things are sounding much better, I use a Framptone amp switcher to direct the guitar signal to either a G-system'd DSL100 amp or an identical straight (no effects) DSL100 amp, so can flick between the two and compare the results of the g-system.

In every configuration case that the manual describes, each one states that the guitar should initially connect to the G-system, so I never though to try the other most obvious config, I'm glad I finally did though!

So how do you other G-system users connect yours?
chris101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-12-2009, 10:39 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris101 View Post
Hi,

SInce I've had my G-system I've always connected it so that the instrument connects direct to the G-system input, then I send from the 'insert' loop to my amp head, return from the amp FX send, then the G-system output goes to the amp FX return, so that I'm 'inserting' the amps' pre-amp before the bulk of the G-system effects.

However I've slowly grown to dislike the resulting effect on my tone, its not as organic and 'natural' as before I started using the G-system, so today I took the much simpler route of instrument direct to the amp input and just use the g-sysem via the fx loop, somehow things are sounding much better, I use a Framptone amp switcher to direct the guitar signal to either a G-system'd DSL100 amp or an identical straight (no effects) DSL100 amp, so can flick between the two and compare the results of the g-system.

In every configuration case that the manual describes, each one states that the guitar should initially connect to the G-system, so I never though to try the other most obvious config, I'm glad I finally did though!

So how do you other G-system users connect yours?
Interesting.
That's actually how Vai connects his I believe.

Guess the drawback with that is that if you use the Filter or Compression effects they will be in the wrong place in the signal chain?
Also any drive pedals placed into the loops they will also be in the wrong place.
bucket_bot is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-15-2009, 04:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 589
Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?

I sold mine because it is a tone sucker. No matter how you connect it it will affect your tone.
rufes is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-30-2009, 07:00 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?

After considerable research I decided to plum for one of these & am very glad I did!!
The switching possibilities with this thing are amazing.

However I can easily understand how some people who buy this could be dissapointed, it's not the easiest thing to setup & the manual is basically crap!

It would be very easy to screw up your tone by making the wrong adjustments on the unit.

Anyone who has one I suggest you download & read this:

http://www.guitaraffair.com/pdfs/g-s...ting-guide.pdf

However when properly set up the effect on your tone is negligible......& certainly no worse than that caused by a couple of stomp boxes in your rig.

See below on my documented progress on this post on the TC forum:

http://forum.tcelectronic.com/viewtopic.php?id=4583
bucket_bot is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-30-2009, 11:38 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?

i've read Laird's guide, and nothing he mentions seems to work for me. I have a good ear, and can hear when my tone is being sucked. The bottom line is, the g system loads your pickups different, and for me, it ruins my tone. For 95% of people, I'm sure they are fine with losing a bit of sparkle, but for me, that means everything.. I'm not about to go spend more money and experiement with buffers, and i don't need compression, and the rest of the stuff that comes with the front end..

Running it through the FX has no negative effect on my tone, and works great.

here's a demo of the dirty ch of my amp w/ the g system

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qarCkw6XKMo

and one of the 'clean'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xv8QbTBjV0I
shogun is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-30-2009, 02:39 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogun View Post
i've read Laird's guide, and nothing he mentions seems to work for me. I have a good ear, and can hear when my tone is being sucked. The bottom line is, the g system loads your pickups different, and for me, it ruins my tone. For 95% of people, I'm sure they are fine with losing a bit of sparkle, but for me, that means everything.. I'm not about to go spend more money and experiement with buffers, and i don't need compression, and the rest of the stuff that comes with the front end..

Running it through the FX has no negative effect on my tone, and works great.

here's a demo of the dirty ch of my amp w/ the g system

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qarCkw6XKMo

and one of the 'clean'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xv8QbTBjV0I
Nice tone & nice playing.
Can't really argue with you, obviously anything apart from a lead between your guitar & amp will affect your tone to some extent.
It's all about how much you are prepared to compromise I guess, & obviously your not.
bucket_bot is offline  
Reply

Tags
amp head , amp input

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar rack system experts -I NEED HELP! - I urgently need a Ervin Martinez Gear and Equipment 45 03-22-2011 11:33 AM
G System and Dual Rec. Problem sanfender Gear and Equipment 4 02-17-2008 05:06 AM
system alert icon on taskbar, how to get rid of it? SilverSurfer2 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 9 07-23-2007 05:33 PM
Jem 77V wh and Buzz Feiten System V JEM and Universe Guitars 72 04-29-2004 11:06 AM
Rack System Help for New Users - I'm new on this Rack midi S NoiseAngel Gear and Equipment 5 10-07-2001 05:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome