<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment

Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2008, 03:39 PM
chris101  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 529  -  iTrader: (0)

G-system users, how do you connect yours?


Hi,

SInce I've had my G-system I've always connected it so that the instrument connects direct to the G-system input, then I send from the 'insert' loop to my amp head, return from the amp FX send, then the G-system output goes to the amp FX return, so that I'm 'inserting' the amps' pre-amp before the bulk of the G-system effects.

However I've slowly grown to dislike the resulting effect on my tone, its not as organic and 'natural' as before I started using the G-system, so today I took the much simpler route of instrument direct to the amp input and just use the g-sysem via the fx loop, somehow things are sounding much better, I use a Framptone amp switcher to direct the guitar signal to either a G-system'd DSL100 amp or an identical straight (no effects) DSL100 amp, so can flick between the two and compare the results of the g-system.

In every configuration case that the manual describes, each one states that the guitar should initially connect to the G-system, so I never though to try the other most obvious config, I'm glad I finally did though!

So how do you other G-system users connect yours?
quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2009, 10:39 PM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris101 View Post
Hi,

SInce I've had my G-system I've always connected it so that the instrument connects direct to the G-system input, then I send from the 'insert' loop to my amp head, return from the amp FX send, then the G-system output goes to the amp FX return, so that I'm 'inserting' the amps' pre-amp before the bulk of the G-system effects.

However I've slowly grown to dislike the resulting effect on my tone, its not as organic and 'natural' as before I started using the G-system, so today I took the much simpler route of instrument direct to the amp input and just use the g-sysem via the fx loop, somehow things are sounding much better, I use a Framptone amp switcher to direct the guitar signal to either a G-system'd DSL100 amp or an identical straight (no effects) DSL100 amp, so can flick between the two and compare the results of the g-system.

In every configuration case that the manual describes, each one states that the guitar should initially connect to the G-system, so I never though to try the other most obvious config, I'm glad I finally did though!

So how do you other G-system users connect yours?
Interesting.
That's actually how Vai connects his I believe.

Guess the drawback with that is that if you use the Filter or Compression effects they will be in the wrong place in the signal chain?
Also any drive pedals placed into the loops they will also be in the wrong place.
quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2009, 04:23 AM
rufes  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 589  -  iTrader: (3)

Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?


I sold mine because it is a tone sucker. No matter how you connect it it will affect your tone.
quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:00 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?


After considerable research I decided to plum for one of these & am very glad I did!!
The switching possibilities with this thing are amazing.

However I can easily understand how some people who buy this could be dissapointed, it's not the easiest thing to setup & the manual is basically crap!

It would be very easy to screw up your tone by making the wrong adjustments on the unit.

Anyone who has one I suggest you download & read this:

http://www.guitaraffair.com/pdfs/g-s...ting-guide.pdf

However when properly set up the effect on your tone is negligible......& certainly no worse than that caused by a couple of stomp boxes in your rig.

See below on my documented progress on this post on the TC forum:

http://forum.tcelectronic.com/viewtopic.php?id=4583
quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2009, 11:38 AM
shogun  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525  -  iTrader: (13)

Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?


i've read Laird's guide, and nothing he mentions seems to work for me. I have a good ear, and can hear when my tone is being sucked. The bottom line is, the g system loads your pickups different, and for me, it ruins my tone. For 95% of people, I'm sure they are fine with losing a bit of sparkle, but for me, that means everything.. I'm not about to go spend more money and experiement with buffers, and i don't need compression, and the rest of the stuff that comes with the front end..

Running it through the FX has no negative effect on my tone, and works great.

here's a demo of the dirty ch of my amp w/ the g system

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qarCkw6XKMo

and one of the 'clean'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xv8QbTBjV0I
quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2009, 02:39 PM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: G-system users, how do you connect yours?


Quote:
Originally Posted by shogun View Post
i've read Laird's guide, and nothing he mentions seems to work for me. I have a good ear, and can hear when my tone is being sucked. The bottom line is, the g system loads your pickups different, and for me, it ruins my tone. For 95% of people, I'm sure they are fine with losing a bit of sparkle, but for me, that means everything.. I'm not about to go spend more money and experiement with buffers, and i don't need compression, and the rest of the stuff that comes with the front end..

Running it through the FX has no negative effect on my tone, and works great.

here's a demo of the dirty ch of my amp w/ the g system

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qarCkw6XKMo

and one of the 'clean'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xv8QbTBjV0I
Nice tone & nice playing.
Can't really argue with you, obviously anything apart from a lead between your guitar & amp will affect your tone to some extent.
It's all about how much you are prepared to compromise I guess, & obviously your not.
quote
Reply

Tags
amp head, amp input


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar rack system experts -I NEED HELP! - I urgently need a Ervin Martinez Gear and Equipment 45 03-22-2011 11:33 AM
G System and Dual Rec. Problem sanfender Gear and Equipment 4 02-17-2008 05:06 AM
system alert icon on taskbar, how to get rid of it? SilverSurfer2 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 9 07-23-2007 05:33 PM
Jem 77V wh and Buzz Feiten System V JEM and Universe Guitars 72 04-29-2004 11:06 AM
Rack System Help for New Users - I'm new on this Rack midi S NoiseAngel Gear and Equipment 5 10-07-2001 05:21 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by