<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment

Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2009, 11:29 AM
metal  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


Hey there, i'd like to know if anyone there has bought stuff from the website GAK.co.uk
it provides good rates , but i'm just a bit cautious about buying a guitar from there.

The guitar which im going for is Ibanez RGT6EX which has EMG 81/85 pickups. Earlier i was going for the Ibanez XPT-700 with DiMarzio Activator pickups....
I play metal mostly....so hope everyone here agrees i made the right decision.!!!

So people...is there anyone here who bought a guitar from GAK?? And was completely satisfied??
quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2009, 11:39 AM
andy7jem  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: london,uk
Posts: 6,504  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


I bought my RG7321 from there with no problem
quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2009, 12:03 PM
metal  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


Quote:
Originally Posted by andy7jem View Post
I bought my RG7321 from there with no problem

Whew...thanx for the reply dude...

so u paid them through credit card?? And there was not even a minor problem in the guitar right??

How much time did it take for the guitar to reach you??
quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2009, 12:19 PM
(a)
Batchimp RG  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,378  -  iTrader: (2)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


They are a market leader...you should have no probs.
quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2009, 12:23 PM
andy7jem  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: london,uk
Posts: 6,504  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


I can't remember all the details as it was a while ago!!

They used City Link (i assume they still do) and the guitar was delivered within the time frame they specified which i think was only a few days. I was very apprehensive as being a cheap guitar it didn't come in a case, just a box, but was quite well bubble wrapped and the guy who delivered it kept it in the front of his van rather than bouncing around with the other parcels in the back!! Whether they would all do that or i just got lucky i don't know!!

Paid by credit card.

Guitar was fine

Obviously i'm just one guy though hopefully others can add their experience!!
quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2009, 12:47 PM
Cathedral  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 211  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


Yep, they're a solid business. I bought my RG through them three years ago. They provided excellent communication and were a pleasure to do business with. I did have some trouble with getting hold of the guitar but that was down to City Link, not GAK. They claimed to have dropped round for a delivery and "I was out" but I'd been in that day ad spent the day in the living room, next to the window. So I would have seen anybody approaching the front door. I only managed to get hold of the guitar by checking the tracking number on the City Link website and discovering it was sitting in a depo waiting to be picked up, they didn't even try to contact me.

So anyway, GAK are great, City Link are a bit careless, so take note of the tracking number and check it every day.
quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2009, 12:54 PM
Algiman  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,553  -  iTrader: (14)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


City Link are dreadful - on more than one occasion I've caught them putting a card though my door without even trying the bell to see if I was in.
That said, GAK are great and I bought from them several times, and will again.
quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2009, 01:27 PM
markg5150  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rugby, UK
Posts: 2,361  -  iTrader: (2)

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


I've used GAK a few times but not for a guitar. No problem they are usually about the cheapest around

City Link aren't too hot though
quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2009, 05:32 PM
metal  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

Re: Is GAK.CO.UK safe enough??


Thanx friends!!!
quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar Safe jem20thlover JEM and Universe Guitars 28 05-28-2010 09:56 PM
Is this site safe? tomkatzz Guitar Lessons & Music Theory 4 02-01-2007 05:55 PM
Is it safe to use WD-40 instead of fastfret? hanban Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 12-22-2003 05:26 PM
I need help with strippers - safe alternatives Chris Johnson Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 12-21-2000 09:31 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com