Legacy Master Volume Mod - Jemsite
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-2009, 07:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Legacy Master Volume Mod

For anyone interested I recently carried out this mod successfully on my Legacy 1.

I documented it on the Carvin BB for the benefit of others who may be interested.

It was not difficult to do and was IMO worthwhile.

See link below:

http://www.carvinguitars.com/bbs/vie...27a5350eb079fb
bucket_bot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-2009, 11:07 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

very cool!

how much?
teokiatuan is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-2009, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by teokiatuan View Post
very cool!

how much?
If you mean the cost of the parts.....around £15 UK.
bucket_bot is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 08:00 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

sounds good, cheaper and gentler on the tubes than an attenuator...

how does it compare to the mv on the legacy II?
teokiatuan is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Pretty favourably I would say as far as the Lead channel is concerned, however it does result in some breakup on the clean channel if you set the MV less than around 30%.

However all in all the mod gives the amp a lot more flexibility and you lose nothing by doing it as with the MV dimed to 100% the amp behaves exactly as before.

However I would still say that of the 2 amps I still prefer the Legacy 1.
bucket_bot is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 08:27 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

im thinking of installing it on my amp now

problem is i can only install it at the back, not a fan of the front panel installation...
hmm....
teokiatuan is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Not really a problem.

Should be room to fit the Pot opposite to where I fitted mine.

On the rear panel this would be in the area of the serial number sticker on the Right hand side near the power cord connection.
bucket_bot is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 09:19 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

ah i see, a bit of an hassle to adjust it though
ok i'll stop being a picky bugger

Carvin really should have done this on the L1 in the first place.
teokiatuan is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 09:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

No probs.....picky is good!

It looks much better now I have a matching Chicken head knob from Carvin.

Alternatively you could mount it where I have and fit a very small round knob of a similar colour to the panel then it would hardly be visible if that is your concern?
bucket_bot is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

How about mounting this as an outboard footpedal? In stead of a front mounted knob, you'd have a rear jack!
eviltwin is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Exclamation Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltwin View Post
How about mounting this as an outboard footpedal? In stead of a front mounted knob, you'd have a rear jack!
Not sure of the voltages passing through that part of the PCB so possibly not a good idea?
Also the mod requires a dual pot so not quite as simple as just replacing it with a jack.
bucket_bot is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 11:22 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket_bot View Post
No probs.....picky is good!

It looks much better now I have a matching Chicken head knob from Carvin.

Alternatively you could mount it where I have and fit a very small round knob of a similar colour to the panel then it would hardly be visible if that is your concern?
ah yes, i never thought of going small, thanks for the idea

its looking very tempting right nowww
teokiatuan is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 11:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket_bot View Post
Not sure of the voltages passing through that part of the PCB so possibly not a good idea?
Also the mod requires a dual pot so not quite as simple as just replacing it with a jack.
1) I'm not suggesting running 600V through a volume pedal, there must be a way to keep signal, and power circuits separate. I'm pretty sure the current mod already does that, otherwise if the chickenhead knob fell off, that pot would become seriously dangerous
2) perhaps I wasn't clear enough, when I said pedal I meant a rocking CC-type or volume pedal, NOT a switch.
A Dual pot could become stereo jack to stereo volume pedal. Such a pedal would add some cost to the mod, but it would protect the integrity of the front panel and add a cool feature.
eviltwin is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2009, 12:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228
Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod

By all means go ahead & give it a go?

To be honest I'm pretty sure there is not 600V running through the Pot or Richard Hasslebrock would not have suggested the mod.
As you say that would be dangerous.

Personally I don't have a problem with an extra Knob on the front panel.
bucket_bot is offline  
Reply

Tags
legacy master volume

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lower Down Legacy Amp Volume Level wareyha Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 12-03-2008 06:54 PM
My Amp doens't have a Master Volume (Carvin Legacy) Silverburst Gear and Equipment 11 04-18-2007 11:59 AM
Optimum balance in master volume for tube-iness - Pre and po tomizm Gear and Equipment 1 02-12-2002 06:19 AM
Carvin Legacy combo volume fade - Anyone know what causes th pri0531 Gear and Equipment 3 01-24-2002 01:32 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome