<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment

Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2009, 07:15 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Legacy Master Volume Mod


For anyone interested I recently carried out this mod successfully on my Legacy 1.

I documented it on the Carvin BB for the benefit of others who may be interested.

It was not difficult to do and was IMO worthwhile.

See link below:

http://www.carvinguitars.com/bbs/vie...27a5350eb079fb
quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2009, 11:07 AM
teokiatuan  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


very cool!

how much?
quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2009, 01:55 PM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Quote:
Originally Posted by teokiatuan View Post
very cool!

how much?
If you mean the cost of the parts.....around £15 UK.
quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:00 AM
teokiatuan  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


sounds good, cheaper and gentler on the tubes than an attenuator...

how does it compare to the mv on the legacy II?
quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:09 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Pretty favourably I would say as far as the Lead channel is concerned, however it does result in some breakup on the clean channel if you set the MV less than around 30%.

However all in all the mod gives the amp a lot more flexibility and you lose nothing by doing it as with the MV dimed to 100% the amp behaves exactly as before.

However I would still say that of the 2 amps I still prefer the Legacy 1.
quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:27 AM
teokiatuan  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


im thinking of installing it on my amp now

problem is i can only install it at the back, not a fan of the front panel installation...
hmm....
quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:37 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Not really a problem.

Should be room to fit the Pot opposite to where I fitted mine.

On the rear panel this would be in the area of the serial number sticker on the Right hand side near the power cord connection.
quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:19 AM
teokiatuan  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


ah i see, a bit of an hassle to adjust it though
ok i'll stop being a picky bugger

Carvin really should have done this on the L1 in the first place.
quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:37 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


No probs.....picky is good!

It looks much better now I have a matching Chicken head knob from Carvin.

Alternatively you could mount it where I have and fit a very small round knob of a similar colour to the panel then it would hardly be visible if that is your concern?
quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:19 AM
eviltwin  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


How about mounting this as an outboard footpedal? In stead of a front mounted knob, you'd have a rear jack!
quote
  #11  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:34 AM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)
Exclamation

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltwin View Post
How about mounting this as an outboard footpedal? In stead of a front mounted knob, you'd have a rear jack!
Not sure of the voltages passing through that part of the PCB so possibly not a good idea?
Also the mod requires a dual pot so not quite as simple as just replacing it with a jack.
quote
  #12  
Old 07-28-2009, 11:22 AM
teokiatuan  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: singapore
Posts: 425  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket_bot View Post
No probs.....picky is good!

It looks much better now I have a matching Chicken head knob from Carvin.

Alternatively you could mount it where I have and fit a very small round knob of a similar colour to the panel then it would hardly be visible if that is your concern?
ah yes, i never thought of going small, thanks for the idea

its looking very tempting right nowww
quote
  #13  
Old 07-28-2009, 11:27 AM
eviltwin  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket_bot View Post
Not sure of the voltages passing through that part of the PCB so possibly not a good idea?
Also the mod requires a dual pot so not quite as simple as just replacing it with a jack.
1) I'm not suggesting running 600V through a volume pedal, there must be a way to keep signal, and power circuits separate. I'm pretty sure the current mod already does that, otherwise if the chickenhead knob fell off, that pot would become seriously dangerous
2) perhaps I wasn't clear enough, when I said pedal I meant a rocking CC-type or volume pedal, NOT a switch.
A Dual pot could become stereo jack to stereo volume pedal. Such a pedal would add some cost to the mod, but it would protect the integrity of the front panel and add a cool feature.
quote
  #14  
Old 07-28-2009, 12:01 PM
bucket_bot  is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Forest UK
Posts: 228  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: Legacy Master Volume Mod


By all means go ahead & give it a go?

To be honest I'm pretty sure there is not 600V running through the Pot or Richard Hasslebrock would not have suggested the mod.
As you say that would be dangerous.

Personally I don't have a problem with an extra Knob on the front panel.
quote
Reply

Tags
legacy master volume


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lower Down Legacy Amp Volume Level wareyha Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 12-03-2008 06:54 PM
My Amp doens't have a Master Volume (Carvin Legacy) Silverburst Gear and Equipment 11 04-18-2007 11:59 AM
Optimum balance in master volume for tube-iness - Pre and po tomizm Gear and Equipment 1 02-12-2002 06:19 AM
Carvin Legacy combo volume fade - Anyone know what causes th pri0531 Gear and Equipment 3 01-24-2002 01:32 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by