recording bass heads - Jemsite
Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2005, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
recording bass heads

could anyone tell me if I need to have my bass head plugged into a cab when i record it direct via xlr out? Someone told me the head will fry if I dont have it plugged into the cab...thoughts?
eonblueapocalypse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2005, 11:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 200
Re: recording bass heads

i dont think it matter... you just need the cabs to hear what it sounds like...try going to the manufactors website and downlaoding a pdf manual
AlexBLA is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2005, 11:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Re: recording bass heads

i hear tube amps will go out if you turn them on with no speakers connected,so be careful.
knarfzednem is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 12:25 AM
 
ScottB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,210
Re: recording bass heads

Amplifier plus Speaker Load = Good

Amplifier minus Speaker Load = VERY BAD

With no cab connected to your head, you'll most likely only fry your output transformer, but a competent amplifier repair shop will be able to fix you up for a few hundred or more, depending upon the power output of the amp. The more powerful the amp, the heavier the output tranny and thus the higher the price tag.

Seriously though, whoever told you it was cool to play without a speaker connected to the amp should have their head examined or split the cost of the repair bill. If you have a headphone jack that mutes the speaker when the phones are plugged in, that's OK, just be sure the cab is always connected and presenting a load to the output transformer whenever you have the amp plugged in to your power supply. Even in the case of inadvertantly turning on the power - with no guitar plugged in and no input signal present - you can do serious damage to your rig.

Last edited by ScottB; 08-03-2005 at 12:33 AM.
ScottB is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 02:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Re: recording bass heads

ok cool ..thanks for saving my ass from alot of hassle considering its not my amp.
thanks again
eonblueapocalypse is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 11:25 AM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,836
Re: recording bass heads

Depends on the amp, if it is a solid state amp, it will most likely be fine. Tube amps have to have a load. What kind of amp is it? Check the manual, it should say "do not use without a speaker load connected" or something like that if it will hurt it.

Roger
rgr is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Re: recording bass heads

It's a fender bassman 400 head ..solid state so i guess it would have been ok.
i recorded with it today, but used the cab so its ok..just thought id check before hand.
at least now i know.
eonblueapocalypse is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 07:12 PM
 
ScottB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,210
Re: recording bass heads

"Most" high power solid state heads have a thermal protector built into their circuitry. The minimum impedance rating should be listed on the rear panel near the speaker connection jacks. If the minimum load is, for example 4 ohms, connecting a speaker load of 2 ohms will cause the protector to open and the amp will shut itself off, thus protecting the transformer. The same goes for no speaker load - zero ohms - the thermal protector will shut the amp down until a load above the minimum is properly connected.
ScottB is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 07:43 PM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,836
Re: recording bass heads

A dead short, i.e. a straight wire across the outputs, is 0 ohms, whereas an open, i.e. nothing connected, is infinite ohms, which is why it usually doesn't hurt ss power amps. Really, I studied this stuff for 4 years in college.

It doesn't work for tube amps though, they need a load across them.

You should still consult the manual first.

Roger
rgr is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-03-2005, 11:26 PM
 
ScottB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,210
Red face Re: recording bass heads

Man do I feel like a dork! The last time I repaired my amp, I had to replace one of the input jacks. It was the 3 conductor, "shorting" type jack. I just checked the wiring schematic and the speaker outputs are the standard, "non-shorting" type.

Thanks for clearing up my misconception Roger.
ScottB is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 09:13 AM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,836
Re: recording bass heads

No problem, I really wasn't trying to sound like an a$$, just didn't want anyone misled. An amp maker would never use a shorting jack on an output, maybe a switching jack that put a "dummy" load in place in case nothing was hooked up (Koch to name one). The reason for the input jack to short to ground it to kill noise when nothing is hooked to it.

Peace,
Roger
rgr is offline  
Reply

Tags
fender bassman , input jacks , power amp , power amps , solid state amp , solid state head , tube amp , tube amps

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ashdown Heads for Bass are they awesome or what. Adzman Gear and Equipment 1 08-26-2012 03:50 PM
Recording Bass Algiman Recording Studio 7 08-30-2005 06:28 PM
Anyone use the Variax Acoustic / Bass for recording? bduersch Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) 9 08-08-2005 01:19 PM
Recording a bass guitar with a POD or similar? caprile Gear and Equipment 2 01-18-2005 12:17 AM
Under $200 Bass for a guitar player recording? Rudy Recording Studio 10 01-11-2004 10:26 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome