<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Gear and Equipment

Gear and Equipment Gear & equipment disussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2013, 07:22 PM
(a)
doriangrey  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,936  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 10

Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


There is a shiny new Zoom G3 on CL here for $130 and I was thinking about buying one - I've read lots of good reviews but I was wondering if anyone here has tried one yet.

I basically just want to run it through the effects loop of my Legacy head so I can save a variety of delay and/or chorus presets. I currently do this with my very old Digitech GSP5, which I am thinking of retiring because it is old and a PITA to program and I can't use it in my effects loop so I have to run my guitar through the GSP5 first and then into my Legacy, which I don't really like doing.

There aren't many delay pedals that let you save multiple presets (only 4 on the DD-20). I have looked at the Line 6 M5 but it only lets you use one effect at a time and the M9 is a lot more $$ than the G3.

Thoughts anyone?
quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2013, 06:47 PM
(a)
doriangrey  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,936  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 10

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


Nobody out there has tried one?
quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2013, 07:03 PM
(a)
metalhead52  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 570  -  iTrader: (16)
Reviews: 1

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


Haven't tried the G3 but I love my G2. Has some great distortion and effects. Acoustic sim is awesome. Never had any luck with multi pedals through the effects loop in my Legacy 212 though. Always a loud hum.
quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2013, 07:44 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


I sometimes use my G2G in the effects loop for modulation--I like it.
No experience with the G3, but would guess it to be at least as good.
quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2013, 10:44 AM
gEARs7  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 64  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


I had a Zoom G3, didn't like the Amp sim, but the fx are decent. Return and got the Pod HD. If you are using it for FX only, it should be ok. One thing that really bother me was that I couldn't rename the patch.
quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:38 PM
(a)
doriangrey  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,936  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 10

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gEARs7 View Post
I had a Zoom G3, didn't like the Amp sim, but the fx are decent. Return and got the Pod HD. If you are using it for FX only, it should be ok. One thing that really bother me was that I couldn't rename the patch.
U can't rename the patches? That is dumb....I thought about the pod hd but u can't use those for effects only in the amps effects loop... I was led to believe that u have to use an amp model with pod hd and can't just program patches with effects only ... Plus they are more money... Those are the reasons why I'm leaning towards zoom g3
quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2013, 03:57 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,520  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


Are you talking about the old G3 model or the new one? Both are quite different.
quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:32 AM
(a)
doriangrey  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,936  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 10

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


The new one...they have the G3 and the G3x with the expression pedal...it's been getting some great reviews but I thought I would see if anyone here has tried one...
quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:51 AM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,520  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: Zoom G3 - who's tried one?


I've heard that the new G3 is very impressive too. If its better than my old G7.1ut (which had some awesome models) its sure to be a winner.
quote
Reply

Tags
zoom g3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoom G2-1U MFB Recording Studio 2 10-30-2008 10:10 AM
Zoom G2 Christoph_JEM Gear and Equipment 4 11-15-2005 06:24 PM
Just got a Zoom G2...anyone else got one beyblade Gear and Equipment 0 10-25-2005 12:01 PM
Zoom 606? spacenuke Gear and Equipment 3 11-10-2002 05:38 AM
Zoom MSR-4 or Zoom PS-02 recorder? - What one should I go fo WildWayz Gear and Equipment 5 04-24-2002 07:58 AM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by