<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Recording Studio

Recording Studio To discuss recording gear, home studios, home studio PCs, studio techniques and the likes.

Old 12-10-2012, 04:55 PM

Help a total beginner with recording?

I currently have a PODxt that I use at night when my Mesa Roadster just won't fly, but I'd like to start recording things in a better way than using my cell phone as a camcorder in the room (example here http://youtu.be/b0NoNWw5L4w). Also, I've never been happy happy recording direct via USB with the POD. Though it works great for me coming out of my nice computer speakers when simply practicing, the tone recording direct just sounds dead to me.

Since I have a nice amp, I'd like to try recording it miced. Few questions though:

Can I used my POD as the interface from the SM57? I'd have to guess I'll get better results getting something like an MAUDIO FASTTRACK PRO to start off with.

If going to MAUDIO route, is it better to use something like a SPDIF in instead of USB to help with latency?

I'm not looking to do a crazy amount of tracks, but more start to learn how to record guitar over some basic drum tracks that doesn't sound thin and dead like it does with the POD. I have recorded miced before, but none of the gear used was mine so I've never tried to do it myself.

Any advise would be great or even a good place to go and read up before I ask more stupid questions haha. Thanks all.
Old 12-10-2012, 05:12 PM
Banned

Reviews: 64

Re: Help a total beginner with recording?

Go take some classes.
Believe me with only tips from forums in a decade you'll know the same..........nothing.
I already saw a dozen guys who started that way and 10 years later their recordings still sound like noise, tips are shortcuts to nowhere.
There's a lot of people spreading myths, some read something a famous guy posted in a magazine so it's a fact, some can't even tune their guitars but give tips about recording etc.
You never know who's speaking to you.