<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Recording Studio

Recording Studio To discuss recording gear, home studios, home studio PCs, studio techniques and the likes.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:44 PM
Trickae  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


I'm trying to use my built in Red box from my H&K triamp MKII. However I don't know what audio interface I would use between my amp head and PC.

Amp Head specs:
http://www.hughes-and-kettner.com/pr...d=Redbox%20Pro


The red box out uses an XLR DI type connection - however I hesistant to just stick that signal into the line in of my PC/Laptop.

Do I need to use the Red Box Pro between the amp head and PC?
http://www.hughes-and-kettner.com/pr...d=Redbox%20Pro

Or do I use an Audio Interface such as Audio Kontrol 1?

Last edited by Trickae; 03-10-2011 at 07:49 PM.
quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2011, 02:32 PM
therightjem  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,043  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 2

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


Strange timing for this thread as I had just recently downloaded the manual for my Hughes & Kettner Attax 200 as the orginal was long lost. Reading through the manual, I saw mention of the Red Box, and wondered what it was. Further reading indicated that that it's a speaker simulator, of sorts, for direct recording from the amp.

So yes, the Red Box would be between the amp and your PC. Concerning you hesitation of going directly from the Red Box to the PC, you should be okay. I record using the direct out of the amp straight to the PC, however, your suggestion of an audio interface would be recommended, if said audio interface allows for output signal level adjustment. I say this as I have to have the volumes for the three channels of the amp at low levels or I will hit the track too hot. Nothing on my PC has ever been damaged, but I haven't really cranked the volume, either. I assume it wouldn't matter, other than a crappy sound because it's too hot.
quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2011, 02:49 PM
therightjem  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,043  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 2

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


By the way, the link you provided has a link to Red Box manual....

http://87.106.71.220//oma/huke/manua..._pro_klein.pdf

It had diagrams of different setups. I assume number one is what you would want. Replace the picture of the reel to reel with a PC, of course.
quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 11:49 PM
Trickae  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


thanks guys.

I'm using a Pod Studio GX while I wait for the Audio Kontrol 1 by Native Instruments.

The Pod GX doesn't detect any signal at all which has me worried that the red box may be damaged.

I'm tempted to open up the triamp and go through the red box pcb with a multi-meter but it would shooting in the dark - won't know what to look for or what to replace if there's an issue.

Oh well
quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2011, 02:44 PM
therightjem  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,043  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 2

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


I could be wrong about this, but I don't think the GX input is compatible with the Red Box output. The UX1, for example, has two 1/4 inch line inputs in addition to its guitar input. I'm thinking that the line inputs are what you would want to use for your application. You may want to wait until you get the Audio Kontrol 1 before tearing into the amp and Red Box.
quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2011, 10:05 AM
Trickae  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 149  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 1

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


thanks i'll wait for the Audio Kontrol 1 then. If I still can't get a usable signal out I'll take it down to an amp repair shop to have it looked at.

Thanks
quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2011, 02:39 PM
bancika  is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 562  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 2

Re: How to use Hughes Kettner Red Box


I have a similar Palmer PDI-09 with XLR output. For direct recording I made a cable that has XLR input and 1/4" output (hot to 2 or 3, gnd to 1, the remaining wire is just ignored). That way you loose 3db of gain but it works fine otherwise.
quote
Reply

Tags
h&k, hughes & kettner, red box, triamp mkii


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Hughes & Kettner BigShred Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 09-09-2006 11:34 AM
Got my new Hughes & Kettner rig together bduersch Gear and Equipment 15 08-03-2006 06:24 AM
Hughes & Kettner JM5150 Gear and Equipment 1 07-11-2005 05:22 AM
hughes & kettner hiddendan Gear and Equipment 2 09-13-2004 01:27 AM
Hughes and Kettner anyone? poet Gear and Equipment 0 08-20-2003 07:01 AM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by