<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Recording Studio

Recording Studio To discuss recording gear, home studios, home studio PCs, studio techniques and the likes.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2009, 02:40 AM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


I'm thinking of buying a reamping device and this one is more in my price range. I know some people use a passive DI box backwards but I'd kinda like to go with something actually designed for the purpose. I can't find any online reviews of the Radial ProRMP - anyone tried it?

http://www.radialeng.com/pr-radial-prormp.htm

I have a bunch of stuff recorded over the last 2 years or so using software amp sims, and while I'm happy with the performances I'd rather use my Marshall. I figure it's much easier to reamp my original performances than try to nail some of my crazyassed improvised solos again using my amp. If I reamp the tracks, that's, like, 60% of a CD's worth of stuff already recorded. So that's where I'm at.
quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:53 AM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,983  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


nope, but i have it's big brother: the x-amp. i absolutely LOVE it for reamping. i have tried passive di's in reverse and other level matching products/preamps, but the x-amp is just perfect, no compromise and sounds great! have fun reamping, you'll wonder why you haven't done it until now!

rich
quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:26 PM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rty13ibz98 View Post
nope, but i have it's big brother: the x-amp. i absolutely LOVE it for reamping. i have tried passive di's in reverse and other level matching products/preamps, but the x-amp is just perfect, no compromise and sounds great! have fun reamping, you'll wonder why you haven't done it until now!

rich
Thanks for the reply! I can't wait to get this thing and try it out. Maybe if the Australian dollar is strong on the day I order, I'll get the X-amp instead.
quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:53 PM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,983  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Petie View Post
Thanks for the reply! I can't wait to get this thing and try it out. Maybe if the Australian dollar is strong on the day I order, I'll get the X-amp instead.
the x-amp is worth it for the additional features. the ground lift is such a life saver. the output level is great for compensating a lower level, too. BTE, i got mine used for just a bit more than a pro rmp, so it was a no brainer.

rich
quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 10:01 PM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


I just cobbled some of my reamping research into a blog post: http://iheartguitar.blogspot.com/200...g-devices.html
quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2009, 09:52 PM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


I ended up buying the ProRMP, which I ordered on April 15. It STILL HAS NOT ARRIVED. Very unimpressed with the seller - an **** store with seemingly good feedback. They finally got back to me 20 days ago and said it would arrive within 10 days. They also told me their email server went down for a few weeks so they didn't know about my order. Yeah cos god forbid they go to a net cafe and actually log into their **** account so they can conduct their business.
quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:53 AM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,983  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


ouch!!!

new they go for $100usd. was it really worth the extra headache? i bought my x-amp used, but i saved $60usd on it. basically i got the x-amp for $40usd more than the prormp.


rich
quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2009, 06:54 PM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


I bought it new, from a bricks-and-mortar music store which sells through the aforementioned auction site. They don't seem particularly interested in replying to emails. If nothing happens soon I guess I'm going to have to file my first ever ****/PayPal dispute.
quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:34 PM
Petie  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,150  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Radial ProRMP - anyone used it?


Update to the update: I filed a dispute and got a refund. Bought one from a different US online retailer and it arrived here in Australia less than a week later. I won't actually get a chance to try it out until tomorrow though.
quote
Reply

Tags
radial, reamp


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT: Radial Tone Bone Classic Distortion Nick83 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 01-28-2009 01:39 AM
Radial Tone Bone?? shogun Gear and Equipment 14 02-27-2008 09:30 PM
Jem EVO set and Radial Stuff for Sale DrugDM Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 10-09-2007 11:30 AM
Radial Trimode or Plexitube David McCarroll Gear and Equipment 1 06-06-2007 09:29 PM
sliding miter saw or Radial saw for cutting fret slots?? SilverSurfer2 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 05-22-2004 07:54 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by