<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Recording Studio

Recording Studio To discuss recording gear, home studios, home studio PCs, studio techniques and the likes.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2012, 12:20 AM
ironfistx  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 787  -  iTrader: (0)

Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


I use Reaper and cannot reduce latency to a useable level with my stock soundcard. I cannot monitor what I record because there's a delay.

It wasn't an issue when recording guitar cuz I could just use headphones from my amp and hear myself playing in real time.

I want to start recording with a midi keyboard and it will be an issue because I won't be able to hear myself playing in real time, so I have to solve this latency issue now.

Is it a soundcard issue?

Computer specs:

Acer Aspire M3400
AMD Phenom II X4 820 Processor 2.80 GHz
8GB RAM (maxed out)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Soundcard is integrated so whatever the default one Acer uses.

I need to be able to hear what I'm recording in real time.
quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2012, 02:28 AM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Get a good recording interface.
If you're recording straight into the sound card, then the sound card isn't zero latency.
You can find decent interfaces for less than $100 these days.
You can also get good used ones.
Check out PreSonus.
quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2012, 06:53 AM
sebastian  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Melbourne, FL 32940
Posts: 2,853  -  iTrader: (11)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


The DAW acts like a sound card.
Have you tried using ASIO 4ALL V2 ?
quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:21 AM
rty13ibz98  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,983  -  iTrader: (34)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


new sound card and more ram always helps.

before i got my presonus firestudio, i used to mult out to a separate mixer and mix my recording track with that of my daw to reduce latency. with the presonus universal control; it is a convoluted, but very powerful signal routing matrix. no one(including me) notices a lag in the signal.

rich
quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2012, 11:41 AM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


If you really need a new sound card anyway--go with a new, zero latency card.
If you're only contemplating one for recording--get an interface, as it has more features.
quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2012, 12:46 PM
ironfistx  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 787  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post
If you're recording straight into the sound card, then the sound card isn't zero latency.
Correct, that is what I'm doing.

Guitar --> Amp --> Signal split into headphones (so I can hear myself play in real time) and soundcard input (so I can record what I'm playing)

Quote:
You can find decent interfaces for less than $100 these days.
What are the advantages of an interface over going directly into a soundcard like I'm doing now?

Will an interface work with my current soundcard, or will I also need to upgrade my soundcard? And it will eliminate latency?

I know nothing about interfaces. What sort of things should I look for/avoid when choosing one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post
If you really need a new sound card anyway--go with a new, zero latency card.
If you're only contemplating one for recording--get an interface, as it has more features.
My soundcard is fine otherwise, there's just latency when I turn the speakers on while I'm recording, hence me splitting my signal from my amp into headphones and into my soundcard.
quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2012, 12:55 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


An interface offers other features, depending on what you get.
Some of these are: multiple inputs, headphone outs with volume control, level adjustment, tube preamp, etc.

Most are USB or FireWire, so they are not plugged into your sound card--they work separately.
All audio goes through the interface.

I have a Yamaha Audio gram AND a PreSonus Tube Pre.

Go check those out and see if the features appeal to you.
There are others, too--like the M-Buddy.

I like them because they are standalone, and don't rely on the sound card.

Keep in mind that the Presonus is just a preamp, though.
It can be connected to your computer, but will go into the sound card.
This is why I use both.
Guitar--Tube Pre--Audiogram--USB port.

Last edited by AlaskaBat; 12-14-2012 at 01:30 PM.
quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2012, 01:36 PM
Drew  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 5,022  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post
If you really need a new sound card anyway--go with a new, zero latency card.
If you're only contemplating one for recording--get an interface, as it has more features.
To be fair, I have my M-Audio ProFire2626 set up as my computer's default sound card right now, which is pretty much the norm, as I understand. With a good interface, you don't really need a separate sound card.
quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2012, 02:52 PM
ironfistx  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 787  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post

Keep in mind that the Presonus is just a preamp, though.
It can be connected to your computer, but will go into the sound card.
This is why I use both.
Guitar--Tube Pre--Audiogram--USB port.
I don't understand how that is different from the other one? </noob>

So it goes:

Instrument --> amp --> interface --> USB port?

And Repear can read input from a USB port?

And there's no latency that way?
quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2012, 03:00 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew View Post
To be fair, I have my M-Audio ProFire2626 set up as my computer's default sound card right now, which is pretty much the norm, as I understand. With a good interface, you don't really need a separate sound card.
That's what I mean--you can use an interface AS your sound card.

@Ironfist--they are 2 separate things.
The Presonus is just a preamp, but you can use it if installed into your sound card.
I use the interface for the USB connection.
Yes--it will integrate with Reaper.

Bunch of great info here:
http://tweakheadz.com/soundcards_and...interfaces.htm
quote
  #11  
Old 12-14-2012, 06:11 PM
ironfistx  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 787  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


So probably the dumbest question ever but what is a preamp? The only experience I have with that term is the knob on some amps that says "preamp."
quote
  #12  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:43 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


All the info you need:

http://tweakheadz.com/midi_drum_tips.htm
quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2012, 12:31 PM
ironfistx  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 787  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaBat View Post
I don't think you meant to link to the midi drum tips page but that site does have some good info. I spent a while reading it last night. Thanks!
quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2012, 01:16 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ironfistx View Post
I don't think you meant to link to the midi drum tips page but that site does have some good info. I spent a while reading it last night. Thanks!
Lol--no, but glad you navigated to the right stuff...lol.

Great info in there--should really get you started in recording.
quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2012, 01:51 PM
AlaskaBat  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 98

Re: Will a new soundcard solve my latency problem?


Anything you put between the guitar and amp, or recording device is a preamp--if it does anything to the signal.
The Presonus in my rig is just there to add some tube warmth to vocals.

You don't need it.
Just find a good interface.
What features do you want?
What's your budget?
I'll look around, armed with that info and find you some good ones....
quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eventide H3000-getting around the latency Anthony Xander Gear and Equipment 0 03-06-2010 02:59 PM
Bored, let's solve the worlds energy problem with... Darin Off-topic / Miscellaneous 5 09-21-2007 08:16 AM
Please help solve my AI problems :) learningtolive Recording Studio 0 01-12-2007 06:54 PM
Panama+ Latency issues Dug Multimedia: Music, Pictures & Sounds 15 08-28-2006 09:58 PM
Audiophile and latency problems! Opeth Recording Studio 4 01-15-2003 07:42 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by