<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Pickups & wiring

Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

Old 05-31-2007, 09:47 PM

Basic Electronics

After reading a thread about dpdt switches i decided it would be a good idea to just get all the basic guitar eletronics on the table.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert i do electronic wiring as a marine mechanic, however I do mods to all my own guitars. i.e. guitar mounted boost, home made susatiner, and i put in killswitches and that basic type stuff.

PICK-UPS:

Singlecoils: basicly a single wire wrapped around six or seven single or one soild pole to amplify a magnetic signal. One hat wire one ground wire. some people like to use the ground as a hot and the hot as the ground i forget what this is called but it causes a different tone.

Humbuckers: Two single coils. Humbuckers can be installed many different ways. i.e. the basic DiMarzio pick up has the wiring configuration setup: red, green, black, white. now there are two wires for each "singlecoil" of the humbucker. The most basic set up is . . .

SERIES-the signal runs int the hot side of the one "singlecoil" side and out into the other "singlecoil" side then out to the potiometer.

PARALLEL-This set up is like running two singlecoil pick ups right beside eachother at the same time. the signal goes into one "singlecoil" side and out to the potiometer, at the same time the signal goes through the other "singlecoil" and out to the same pot, the same post. This causes the sound to appear to be one pickup instead of the literal two that it is.

Coil Taps: The Basic principal behind the coil taps is switching between single coil, humbucker - or series, parallel. If you have wiring issues fell free to im me and I'll help you out. SEE DPTP