<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Pickups & wiring

Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2013, 03:32 PM
gauchosilvertone  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 286  -  iTrader: (5)

RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


I'm wiring my 540 Saber like a 520 (I can explain why if anyone cares). Following the Ibanez diagram as closely as I could manage, all the positions work EXCEPT position 3 which should be neck and bridge humbuckers together. Any idea what gives?
quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 04:11 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,586  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


What switch are you using? Chances are the five way switch in the 520 is designed specifically for the 2 humbucker configuration. Standard strat style 5 ways aren't that great for two humbucker setups.
quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:21 PM
gauchosilvertone  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 286  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


The stock YM-50.

I had removed the middle pickup and tied off the black and whites on both humbuckers (DiMarzios), so that the humbuckers were always active in positions 1, 2, 4, & 5, and the middle position was a killswitch. I've decided to wire it like a 520 (if possible) to get a couple split coil sounds, and more importantly to get the neck & bridge humbucker sound.

I don't want the middle pickup there because in order to get it close enough to the strings to compete with the humbuckers, it's totally in the way and annoys the bejesus out of me.
quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:23 PM
MicJustMic  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
What switch are you using? Chances are the five way switch in the 520 is designed specifically for the 2 humbucker configuration. Standard strat style 5 ways aren't that great for two humbucker setups.
Exactly correct, LonePhantom.

I had a 520 with the 'special' 5-way switch.

A standard 5 way can't, no matter how you wire it, give the same selection as the special 5-way.
quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:25 PM
gauchosilvertone  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 286  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


A-ha.

In that case, is there a way to give me the neck and bridge humbucker sound at all, forgetting about the split (position 2 and 4) sounds? That is the main thing I'm after. I've got the old Petrucci setup of the Humbucker from Hell in the neck and Tone Zone in the bridge, and I think they would complement each other beautifully in combination.
quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:19 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,586  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


Order from your local Ibanez dealer 3PS1SC5 switch (made by Cortek for Ibanez). Or if you want to try it,convert this Seymour Duncan H-H with standard 5 way switch to suit the YM-50 (there are conversion charts available on the web).

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support...=2hb_1vol_5way

Remember SD Black is DZ red.
quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:01 AM
moonlight  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle ,Washington USA
Posts: 433  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


You might be able to get position three working as you want with a couple of jumper wires on the switch. You have to jump the terminal that the wire from the pickups connect to terminals that are closed to output in position 3. Sorry, I don't remember which ones they are on the switch you have as I have gone to CRL switches.
quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:23 PM
gauchosilvertone  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 286  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


For those interested in the conversion of an import type to a US 5-way switch:

http://alloutput.com/guitar/5-way-switches-explained/
quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:42 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,586  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


Ah good stuff. That has a great easy to follow guide.
quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2013, 12:09 PM
gauchosilvertone  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 286  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?


Just got it wired up last night- I LOVE this configuration! The only downside is I can't smack the switch all the way to position 5 and get my neck position like I'm accustomed to.
With standard Jem type wiring I never use the middle position, and with this setup I use everything. Long live Jemsite.
quote
Reply

Tags
bridge & neck, rg520

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RG520QS: Loses volume in positions 2 & 4? gauchosilvertone Pickups & wiring 4 07-09-2011 12:56 AM
volume pot that loses contact RemyL Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 05-05-2011 10:31 AM
JS1 ('90/'91) Volume Pot Wiring / Wiring Model? guitarboy JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars 0 01-14-2007 04:31 AM
GFS pups - HSH Wiring with a hot rail in middle Fosse Fox Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 03-05-2006 06:38 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by