RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle? - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 324
RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

I'm wiring my 540 Saber like a 520 (I can explain why if anyone cares). Following the Ibanez diagram as closely as I could manage, all the positions work EXCEPT position 3 which should be neck and bridge humbuckers together. Any idea what gives?
gauchosilvertone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,007
Reviews: 120
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

What switch are you using? Chances are the five way switch in the 520 is designed specifically for the 2 humbucker configuration. Standard strat style 5 ways aren't that great for two humbucker setups.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 324
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

The stock YM-50.

I had removed the middle pickup and tied off the black and whites on both humbuckers (DiMarzios), so that the humbuckers were always active in positions 1, 2, 4, & 5, and the middle position was a killswitch. I've decided to wire it like a 520 (if possible) to get a couple split coil sounds, and more importantly to get the neck & bridge humbucker sound.

I don't want the middle pickup there because in order to get it close enough to the strings to compete with the humbuckers, it's totally in the way and annoys the bejesus out of me.
gauchosilvertone is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 06:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
What switch are you using? Chances are the five way switch in the 520 is designed specifically for the 2 humbucker configuration. Standard strat style 5 ways aren't that great for two humbucker setups.
Exactly correct, LonePhantom.

I had a 520 with the 'special' 5-way switch.

A standard 5 way can't, no matter how you wire it, give the same selection as the special 5-way.
MicJustMic is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 324
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

A-ha.

In that case, is there a way to give me the neck and bridge humbucker sound at all, forgetting about the split (position 2 and 4) sounds? That is the main thing I'm after. I've got the old Petrucci setup of the Humbucker from Hell in the neck and Tone Zone in the bridge, and I think they would complement each other beautifully in combination.
gauchosilvertone is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 07:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,007
Reviews: 120
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

Order from your local Ibanez dealer 3PS1SC5 switch (made by Cortek for Ibanez). Or if you want to try it,convert this Seymour Duncan H-H with standard 5 way switch to suit the YM-50 (there are conversion charts available on the web).

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support...=2hb_1vol_5way

Remember SD Black is DZ red.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 02:01 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle ,Washington USA
Posts: 433
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

You might be able to get position three working as you want with a couple of jumper wires on the switch. You have to jump the terminal that the wire from the pickups connect to terminals that are closed to output in position 3. Sorry, I don't remember which ones they are on the switch you have as I have gone to CRL switches.
moonlight is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 324
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

For those interested in the conversion of an import type to a US 5-way switch:

http://alloutput.com/guitar/5-way-switches-explained/
gauchosilvertone is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 02:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,007
Reviews: 120
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

Ah good stuff. That has a great easy to follow guide.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2013, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 324
Re: RG520 wiring- loses volume in middle?

Just got it wired up last night- I LOVE this configuration! The only downside is I can't smack the switch all the way to position 5 and get my neck position like I'm accustomed to.
With standard Jem type wiring I never use the middle position, and with this setup I use everything. Long live Jemsite.
gauchosilvertone is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge & neck , rg520

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RG520QS: Loses volume in positions 2 & 4? gauchosilvertone Pickups & wiring 4 07-09-2011 12:56 AM
volume pot that loses contact RemyL Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 05-05-2011 10:31 AM
JS1 ('90/'91) Volume Pot Wiring / Wiring Model? guitarboy JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars 0 01-14-2007 04:31 AM
GFS pups - HSH Wiring with a hot rail in middle Fosse Fox Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 03-05-2006 06:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome