<back   Jemsite > Toolbox: Setup, Repairs and Mods > Pickups & wiring

Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2007, 12:42 AM
Zerimas  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 13  -  iTrader: (0)

Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


I have a 91' RG550 and after setting the action to my liking I've noticed that the action is perceptibly higher, albeit not by much, on the G and D strings. Is it possible that the bridge could have been unnecessarily shimmed at the factory, or am I crazy?
quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2007, 12:44 AM
Zerimas  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 13  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


Arg! I am a fool and I posted this in the wrong forum!
quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2007, 04:56 AM
TheToneZone  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Middle of California
Posts: 214  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


that's the way the edge trems were made. also, i've yet to see one come shimmed from the factory, atleast none of the 3 i've owned.
quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:08 PM
Zerimas  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 13  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


I see; I guess I will have to get used to it. It feels a little irksome, especially after playing my Pro Line 1660 which has a Pro Rock'r on which the saddles are adjusted to perfectly match the radius of the fretboard.
quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2007, 07:14 PM
ryanb  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 1,457  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


If it bothers you then just shim the other saddles to get the radius right. Then re-adjust the action. Simple enough to do.
quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2007, 05:03 PM
Zerimas  is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 13  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Saddle Radius on Edge Not Matched to Fingerboard Radius?


Thanks for the tip! I figured that the bridge and fingerboard radius were not the same by default, as is often the case. I did not expect the difference in radii to feel so awkward.
quote
Reply

Tags
edge trem, edge trems, fingerboard radius


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge mysteries solved!!......? - Answers to some common ques Jason Stone Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 18 05-27-2008 08:35 AM
I just put an Edge in my RG470! DirtyBird31 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 09-13-2007 11:22 PM
Edge saddle _FR0D0 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 16 04-23-2003 04:44 PM
A saddle in the lo-pro edge rattles...? - Help, B string sad darthpolster Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 12-17-2002 05:09 AM
Edge Bridge Saddle drthunder Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-28-2002 02:34 AM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by