Ibanez JEM Forum banner

What guitars interest you

Tags
amp bass
4K views 34 replies 26 participants last post by  ashleighhhh 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!
Im kind of new to the whole guitar scene. I just started up within the past couple of months. I was just wondering what do you all look for in a guitar when you buy one? besides the name of a guitar what else do you look for in a model? Is there one particular type of guitar thats superior to them all or is it based more on comfortability and preference?
Since I just started I was givin an Ibanez GSA 20, im not a complete nube because I do play acoustic but as far as electric wise this guitar looks crappy compared to others(it worksout great for me tho) so thats why I ask!
I know it might seem like a stupid question but llike I said, im new so take it easy.
THANKS

#2 ·
I have this fantasy of, next time I buy a guitar, going into the store with a blindfold and saying "Don't even tell me the brand, just keep handing me guitars and I'll play them unseen until I find The One."

I look for a guitar that has lots of detail in the sound. Some guitars tend to smoothe out the rough edges in the player's style, while others emphasise every little detail, which I prefer because it helps push me to become a better playing. I love my Ibanez Talman and my Telecaster project guitar for that reason. Then when I switch to my easier-to-play Ibanezes, my style isn't defined by them.

#4 ·
I look for a couple of things: How the neck feels, and how it sounds. Yes, one can change pickups, but a guitar that sounds like it's coated in a layer of plastic will sound that way regardless of what pickups go in. Playing an electric unplugged gives a good indication of this.

The neck also has to feel good in my hands. No specific profile, no specific type, just does it feel good. That can be a Les Paul neck, a Strat neck....doesn't matter.

#7 ·