Ibanez JEM Forum banner

Will using a XLR (I think) for my rack EQ reduce noise?

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  toneboy 
#1 · (Edited)
So UPS just delivered the MXR rack EQ I ordered a week ago to my house, and I am very pleased with it. There is one problem though. It makes my signal very, very noisy. I am using the standard TRS in and out jacks in the back. But there are also what I believe to be XLR In's and Outs. They look like this but there's only one of each (http://www.performing-musician.com/pm/oct08/images/DbxDriveRackPX_02.jpg). Thats XLR right? The amp I am getting within the next two weeks is a Carvin X100B, which has the same type of jack. If I use these jacks might I get less noise in my signal or is it just the EQ and I'll have to get a noise gate? Sorry for writing so much! I'm a rack gear noob and this is my first piece of rack gear!

Also what cables would you recommend for these jacks. I was looking at XLR's just in case these are XLR's and they were all microphone cables?? Because if possible I would like to use these to have a seperate connection for the rack stuff instead of running from my pedals into the EQ then into the amp's input.

Thanks!

#4 ·
XLR cables have less noise because they're balanced cables, BUT for them to work you need to have 2 copies of the one signal going down the cable, and differential amplifiers, which invert one of the signals and cancelling out the noise. Since guitars and amps only have one signal, they wont be any different from TRS leads, so its pretty pointless, plus almost no guitar gear uses XLR it might cause problems with connecting other gear.

#5 ·
Whoa there partner, you're getting ahead of yourself. Let's clear up a few things first.

First, how do you have the EQ set and by that I mean, what the settings for each band as well as the input and output levels?