Ibanez JEM Forum banner

Guitar Neck Scale length question

5K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  MicJustMic 
#1 ·
Seems SO many guitars are 25.5 scale guitars 22 fret usually.
But My early years were spent on a 24.5 scale neck 24 fret.

Those numbers are Not exact I know but just sayin ....

Now what this simplifies down to is this (for absolute beginners) ....A 24.5 scale ,24 fret guitar will have frets SLIGHTLY closer to one another all the way up the neck. As to where a 25.5 scale neck you will have to kinda stretch a bit more to reach the same frets. Not much,just a tad bit more. Barely noticable.
BUT....its that tiny bit that makes my 24.5 scale 24 fret feels so much more comfortable playing along the neck. Tad less stretching involved.
So I found a guitar I love ..........but its 25.5 scale 22 fret,unfortunately .....but anymore Most electric guitars are seems like .....wondering whats everyone elses take on this?

#5 ·
I agree. but what feels bets to me is the 24.75 and I gues thats because thats what I played for around 15+ years or so up until I picked up a bc rich Gunslinger & now the Ibanez RGT42DX,otherwise ive always had the 24.75 guitars,so thats what feels most comfortable to me. Now im just a bit stuck because when looking at another guitar,in order to get THAT FEEL ,i need it to be 24.75 & Not 25.5

#3 ·
It's more common for guitars with the Gibson scale 24.75 to have 22 frets and ones with 24 frets are not so common.

The Jackson fusions had that scale, and the Peavey Vandenburgs, the esp and ltd Mavericks, and soome eclipses, viper models too, use the shorter scale, if anything its easier to play on the higher frets on the longer scale.....

I didnt notice much difference when going between the two scales with 22 frets theres still enough space to play comfortably...

#4 ·