49K views 225 replies 159 participants last post by  vladimirwarhead 
#1 ·
pretty self explanitory!!!

Whats your favourite?

I hover around the 1mm to 2mm range.
:twisted:

#28 ·
I use very stiff picks.
at the moment purple Dunlop picks 2mm. and I´ve drilled quite a few holes and scratched the surface (where I hold the pick) for better grip.
I also like Pick Boy Hard 1.00 ; the white ones with "Lego surface" at the grip but they´re sometimes difficult to get hold of where I live.
might just visit that brooklyngear.com homepage and buy a hefty bag full of them... :lol:

#34 ·
I use the yellow Dunlop Tortex. i think they're 0.71mm, but they might be 0.73... or are the green ones the 0.73? Anyway I use the yellow.

How did you guys arrive at your choice of picks? For a few years as a beginner, I just sort of randomly picked a "medium" gauge (much like the green Dunlop tortex), but one day I decided to be a bit more conscious about it, and I bought a dozen each of the white, yellow and green dunlop picks (I'd already decided that I didn't like the super thick stubby ones nor the really thin ones by trying them a few times.)

Then I played with the white ones for two weeks, then the yellow ones for a couple weeks, then the green ones for a couple weeks. (The green ones were pretty much what I had been using from the start, and what I thought I would prefer. But, turns out I actually liked the yellow ones the best.

I just mention it because I thought I knew what I liked, but when I actually tried a bunch consciously trying to see which one I liked without deciding in advance, I got surprised.

Edit: Hehe. I just looked at the poll results. Not what I was expecting to see, man you guys use monstrous picks. :)

#35 ·
Black Jazz III's for electric & red Jazz III's & Fender Mediums for acoustic.