Ibanez JEM Forum banner

anybody any good at differentiating?

3K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  caprile 
#1 ·
i want to differentiate X=[2(v^2)/g]sin(a)cos(a) with respect to a so i can prove that 45 degrees is the angle of maximum trajectory but a whole summer off has given me some severe brainrot! its quite embarassing!! anybody a genius at integrals? cmon andre your studying physics!! :p

#4 ·
Oh, dude you are a TOTAL newb if you can't figure that one out! Just take the square root 45 and multiply by the cosine of the perpendicular angle of trajectory, add a cross product of the measures of an isoceles triangle's base and leg angles, and divide by 3.0000005456453257897632874320403043. Duh.
:lol:
jk bro sorry I couldn't help

#5 ·
Remember the product rule?

This is a pretty easy fuction to take the derivative of, considering you just have a constant multiplied by the product of two trigonometric functions.

Generic product rule for differentiation is:

f(x) = sin(x)*cos(x)

therefore

f'(x) = d/dx [(sin(x)] * cos(x) + sin(x) * d/dx [cos(x)]

we know that

d/dx [sin(x)] = cos(x)

and d/dx [cos(x)] = -sin(x)

so you essentially have (let c = 2*v^2/g)

f(a) = c*sin(a)*cos(a)

and

f'(a) = c*[cos^2(a) - sin^2(a)]

or f'(a) = 2*v^2/g[cos^2(a)-sin^2(a)]

Now remember your identities here?

cos^2(x) - sin^2(x) = cos(2x)

so know you have a simplified version of the derivative in the form of

f'(a) = 2*v^2/g*cos(2a)

Hope that helps a little! That's about all I can remember right now, but I'm sure there is some significance with the 2cos(2a) part. It's a double angle something or another... I'm gonna go look it up... I'll get back to you when I think about this problem a little more.

#7 ·
Good work man! I was scratching my head because i differentiated cosx to be sinx and not -sinx...doh, rusty myself.

Just to finish it, if you set the last equation equal to 0 to find the max/min point, 45 is the value of a that will equal 0 (cos90=0).

#8 ·