Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  AJofATTICA 
#1 ·
Well i am going to have to wait about a week longer for the jem but hey no biggie. Well i am moping because i keep thinking that i am up to par on some of these guys but i just ain't fast enough for petrucci and vai or this one metallica solo. Am i behind if i can't all of for the love of god if i have been playing for two years(Even though 8 months i did nothing but strum the same chord progression. I want honest opinions. And oh yeah to stay on a jem topic is it true from what i was told that if i hap[pened to go to japan i could get a jem for like 400 dollars U.S now this was from a friend who doesn't play but just used to live there. Advice on all said.Thanks and may the jem live on forever. Only 12 days till my birthday.h i am so excited

#2 ·
i have no idea about the cost of a JEM in Japan, but since Ishibashi's web site (a Japanese dealer) lists them around the same cost we pay, I doubt there's much of a difference.  The US is very fond of using our clout to make sure we pay as close to native market retail as possible.

In terms of your playing, No you don't suck if you can't play For the Love of God after playing for two years.  Remember this:  Steve had been playing for almost 20 years when he recorded that song.  

#3 ·
dude!

2 years, and you want to be able to play FTLOG....

give it time man.

I've been playing near 8 years, and I can't come close to capturing Vai's feel. Or play the really, really fast bits cleanly.

Just keep playing. Maybe you'll be able to play like vai one day. Just remember, not even Petrucci can play like VAI, or vice-versa.

#4 ·