D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba - Jemsite
Archived Topics and Common Questions Common topics/questions are archived here. You can reply but not start new threads here. New visitors please search the forum for a question possibly already discussed.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-29-2000, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 1,357
D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba

Has anybody tried putting a EVH D-Tuna on an Ibanez guitar? I'd assume that it may be difficult/impossible on a lo-pro edge, but does it work on the original edge? (Don't bother answering re: the TRS).

Too much time off work gets me antsy to work on guitar projects... I planned on rewiring just one guitar. Now I'm rewiring 3 guitars and itching for other projects to work on (aside from things like "cleaning the house", and "working on my taxes" ).

Thanks,
--Brent

(Edited by bduersch at 4:56 pm on Dec. 29, 2000)
bduersch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-29-2000, 05:16 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 191
You can tuna fish

Hi bduersch,

I haven't tried it myself but someone I know suggested this

>Just turn your fine tuner sharp, as far as it
>When and if you want to go into
>dropped-D tuning, there is no need to unclamp, just turn the fine tuner up
>all the way and presto, a working man's D-Tuna!!!

Good luck!
alienx is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-29-2000, 06:24 PM
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
You can tuna fish

The only problem I can see is that the trem rout on Ibanez guitars is not long enough to compensate for the extra length the D-Tuna adds to the locking screw.

Otherwise, I am pretty sure it will work.

If you've got more than one guitar I'd say just tune one of them down to D.
kirk is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-29-2000, 06:30 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,482
Reviews: 1
You can tuna fish

From the old Forum FAQ Topic:
http://jemsiteforum.com/discus/messages/36/1403.html

Either way, you will have block out the "float" for it to stay in tune with the d-tune. Preventing the bridge from pulling sharp will do it... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-04-2001, 10:26 AM
 
Jason Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New York City
Posts: 401
You can tuna fish

I used to have a D-Tuna installed on my 1990 RG570. *Instead of blocking the trem, I used a trem stabilizer (much like a trem setter). *This worked fairly well, but I would always have to make some fine tuning adjustments when switching between concert pitch and dropped-D. *When I decided to lose the trem stabilizer because I did not like how stiff the trem felt with it, I also took off the D-Tuna. *I then went out and bought an AX320H with the Hipshot D-tuner factory installed. *Granted, it's a fixed-bridge guitar, but most of the songs I play that require dropped-D don't really need a whammy bar anyway.

Jason
Jason Stone is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-04-2001, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,901
Reviews: 5
You can tuna fish

I have an EX350 that has the OFR (Original Floyd Rose) and I use the d-tuna on it. *To keep the trem relatively stable I used a Hipshot Tremsetter. *When it's in standard, the whole thing stays in great tune, but when I drop it to do, the who thing goes sharp a little. *It still sounds ok because the strings are in tune with each other, but in truth it is probably a semitone off everywhere.
jem7vwh is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-12-2001, 05:47 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,482
Reviews: 1
You can tuna fish

#Moderation Mode

Moved for Forum Archive Area

<a href="http://jemsiteforum.com/board/topic.cgi?forum=17&topic=5" target="_self">Moved here</a>
jemsite is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-02-2009, 04:39 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Posts: 8
Re: D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba

Is Tremolo No better?!?

I know you'd still have to open locks to drop D, but is it better??
I have a licenced Floyd Rose, can i use it?
Harsh Kumar is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2009, 04:48 PM
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Comox, BC.
Posts: 56
Re: D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba

will only work if you set your edge to dive bomb only. Using a "glued" piece of wood maybe 1/4 thick and jam it between the body and the back of the trem (Part that goes thru the body between the saddles and the springs).

Another note, setting your trem to dive bomb only with this method has the added bonus giving you more sustain since the string vibrations better transmit into the body of the guitar.

Or buy a peavey wolfgang, on eveil bay (get the one with teh tone knob) their USA made not korean
6StringMofo is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-2009, 05:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,266
Reviews: 120
Re: D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba

I've installed a Tremol-no and a D-tuna on an original Edge trem and it all works great together. Just lock to the Tremol-no to hard tail or dive only when using the drop D and all is well.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-26-2009, 12:47 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Re: D-Tuner use with Edge/LoPro - can you use a D-Tuna on an Iba

truthfully...theres really no need for the d-tuna. My effects rig has a function that will tune the whole guitar down to D...without the headache of a D-tuna.It works great
dericduncan is offline  
 

Tags
floyd rose , hipshot tremsetter , ibanez guitars , pro edge , trem setter

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge & D-Tuna Boz0r Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-02-2012 05:21 PM
WTB: square heel neck and edge/lopro edge needed nafigator Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 03-27-2011 05:41 PM
Can you replace an edge trem with a LoPro Edge? - Is it poss Cycovision Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 05-16-2009 12:22 AM
D-Tuna with an Edge? JiMoSiTY Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 02-13-2005 10:48 PM
Feel of LoPro Edge 7 vs LoPro Edge 6 and other setup issues mdrobnak_rg7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 04-16-2003 02:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome