Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise? - Jemsite
Archived Topics and Common Questions Common topics/questions are archived here. You can reply but not start new threads here. New visitors please search the forum for a question possibly already discussed.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2001, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

This should a simple question...

Can I just replace the Edge trems on older Jems (Like FPs) for a Lo-Pro without any routing?

Thanks.
dacmo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2001, 07:48 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 417
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

My JemFP came with an Edge in it, and I slapped a Lo Pro in there with no issues.
tomizm is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2001, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

Cool... Thanks
dacmo is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2001, 08:17 PM
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

The only difference is the length of the route. *It's longer on Edge equipped guitars.

But - they will direct swap, just like tomizm said!
kirk is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-04-2001, 01:04 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 979
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

One other thing you might want to look out for is the difference in length of the ( I'm not sure of the tech name) Transfer bar - the wide flat bar that sets between the top of the trem and the springs....

See pick below of one taken off another Edge Lo-Pro against the Edge Lo-Pro I have been saving for a project and there are considerable differences in length...

Project Guitar is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-04-2001, 01:11 AM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,481
Reviews: 1
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

the longer base is from a non-recessed Edge. Seen on '86 and earlier Ibanez'. No LoPros should come that way... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-04-2001, 01:35 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 979
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

Hummmmmm...

Somebody probably performed surgery on it before I got then since the top is a standard Lo Pro Edge....
Project Guitar is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-04-2001, 01:37 AM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,481
Reviews: 1
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise?

the longer base will typically protrude beyond the tremolo cover in a standard RG/S body... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-06-2002, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 59
yes direct swap
hyesac is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2004, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Anyone know how much work this mod will take? I wrecked my edge trem on my RG570 so im really considering a Lo Pro ( there is no difference between Lo Pro and Lo Pro Edge, right? ).

It it just a case of taking off the springs, assembling the trem then putting it on the studs already there?

Thanks for any help guys
Cassius is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2004, 01:34 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,481
Reviews: 1
the edge and lopro edge are 100% interchangeable ...glen
jemsite is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2004, 01:35 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,782
Pull the trem with the strings on

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/remove.htm

Pull the strings off the edge and stick them in the "whatever". Reinstall.
Rich is offline  
 

Tags
edge trem , edge trems , equipped guitar , pro edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
direct lo-TRS replacement ? mugatu All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 16 01-18-2016 06:47 AM
ZR direct replacement arm holder lcsdds All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 10-03-2007 06:22 PM
Mesa 50/50 powering a bass rig - wise or un-wise idea? tomizm Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 06-21-2001 01:08 AM
Is the Lo-Pro a direct replacement for the Edge cavity wise? dacmo Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 04-04-2001 01:37 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome