Pedals and Solid state amps - Jemsite
Archived Topics and Common Questions Common topics/questions are archived here. You can reply but not start new threads here. New visitors please search the forum for a question possibly already discussed.

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By sepulchrave
  • 1 Post By IbaNose
  • 1 Post By mike570
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-05-2018, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
Pedals and Solid state amps

Are pedals usually used for Tube amps or can they be used with solid state/modeling amps?
Wayne27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-05-2018, 07:51 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 547
Re: Pedals and Solid state amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne27 View Post
Are pedals usually used for Tube amps or can they be used with solid state/modeling amps?
Pedals are applicable to any/all amps, you probably don't need them with a Kemper though.
Wayne27 likes this.
sepulchrave is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-05-2018, 08:04 AM
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 39
Re: Pedals and Solid state amps

I donít know if this will help you or not but I run BIAS FX into the front of my Roland Blues Cube artist and it sounds great.
Wayne27 likes this.
IbaNose is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-05-2018, 09:52 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 4,340
Reviews: 21
Re: Pedals and Solid state amps

OD pedals will behave a little differently. Just back off on your gain a bit. I have a Marshall Valvestate which is a bit of a hybrid and use a stock TS9. I crank the drive and back off on the level on the pedal itself for breaking up clean tones. I don't really use it on distortion settings. The DS-1 is fine for that. I also compensate for the reduced warmth of the solid state amp by mixing in more bass. I think I can hear my picking better this way. I've been considering going to a full tube amp so these things would change I reckon.
All other pedals should be good. Maybe a compressor would behave differently but I usually only use that on cleans too and sparingly.
Wayne27 likes this.
mike570 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-08-2018, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
Re: Pedals and Solid state amps

Thanks for the help guys!
Wayne27 is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High-output pickups and Solid State amps Wayne27 Archived Topics and Common Questions 2 07-10-2018 04:58 PM
Pickups and solid state amps Fry Pickups & wiring 8 02-03-2004 01:51 PM
Good solid-state amps (if such a thing exists) SuperJemBoy Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 09-08-2003 11:53 AM
TUBE Vs. Solid State Amps!? DrPuls Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 23 10-28-2002 03:42 AM
I need Solid State help - A solid state man in a tube world jem7pbk Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-26-2001 11:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome