What neck for an Ibanez RG570 body? - Jemsite
Archived Topics and Common Questions Common topics/questions are archived here. You can reply but not start new threads here. New visitors please search the forum for a question possibly already discussed.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2011, 06:40 PM Thread Starter

What neck for an Ibanez RG570 body?

Hi there. Before I begin, please let me stress that I am a complete novice at self-assembly when it comes to guitars. I recently bought an RG570 body with a floyd-licenced locking trem from an ESP guitar. I have a couple of DiMarzio humbuckers to go in there and I'm searching for block heeled neck. Will I have to install an Ibanez neck in there, or can I fit a neck from a different manufacturer straight in there? I'd love to fit a Charvel neck since I used to own a Model 2 years ago and it had a stunning neck. I daresay there are some purists out there who would be aghast at reading this but the idea behind this guitar is to marry strong elements from different guitars to produce an interesting hybrid. I have never attempted anything like this before.

I would greatly value any constructive advice on this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2011, 06:48 PM

Reviews: 2
Re: What neck for an Ibanez RG570 body?

I THINK you could get away with a Charvel neck as long as its a 24 fret, but I personally wouldn't try it. Everything on an Ibanez is measured in millimeters. Any USA neck might be too tight or too loose. I just don't know for sure. It would definitely be safer to go with an Ibanez neck, there's usually a bunch of them for sale here or on the bay.

I would also post this question in the "Other Ibanez guitars" section. I just got lucky in finding this post........ most folks never look in this section to see what's going on. You'll get more people's help in the other section.

Welcome to Jemsite!!!!
Ryc