Anyone here from the Netherlands? - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 09:19 PM Thread Starter

Anyone here from the Netherlands?

I am studying abroad next year, and I am most likely going to be studying in the Netherlands. I've narrowed my choices down to two cities: Amsterdam and Nijmegen. Now, I've heard that Amsterdam can be a very fun and fascinating place, but the univesity (Radbound) in Nijmegen would probably be a better fit academically. Is Nijmegen a very happening place that would appeal to a college student looking to see the world? I am from a pretty small town to begin with (population around 20,000), and so I would definitely like to move somewhere bigger.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 02:35 PM

Re: Anyone here from the Netherlands?

What are you going to study? You can come to the university of Leuven in Belgium. 'The' place to be!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 02:46 PM

I don't know about Nijmegen, but Amsterdam is absolutely awesome (ok, granted the only two cities I know in Holland are Amsterdam and The Hague...), definately a major change from living in Kansas. I think it would be a worthwile experience...
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 03:21 PM

Yeah both cities are great, but pretty different...

What are you going to study, since there are a lot of other cool universities here in the netherlands (which also happen to be in cool cities)
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 08:40 AM

I was born in Nijmegen (at the university hospital "st.Radboud"), but I've never lived there, it's a fun place though. Nijmegen University is mostly known for it's Medical academy and socio/political studies, are you doing either one of those?