The generational iconsistency in jemsite. - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 182 (permalink) Old 11-16-2006, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
RCB

The generational iconsistency in jemsite.

It amazes me that jemsite hosts so many teenagers or pre teens. I know the internet population is biased towards a young audience, but one would expect that in a site that is meant to celebrate a guitar that was born escentially as the holly grail of 80s hard rock/hair metal the audience would be mostly on their late 20's early 40's.

Also, I noted that in the last couple of years (Ive been attending this site since 2000, although I became a member years later) the younger audience (at least when it comes to the number of posts) is booming.

Another thing that also changed is the tenor of the threads and post. This use to be a place where interesting and sometimes acid arguments with very good points on both sides were made, this is a lot more rare now. At the same time the number of "what should I do?" or in a more general sense "I need a hug" kind of threads have grown in number. The "supportive" kind of post have also grown at the same pace.

Finally the "posting for the purpose of posting" has also become a sport, specially among teenage members.

This is not a rant, and Im not making any judgements about this changes. The forum is a comunity, and its content reflects the preferences of the most active members in that comunity. Some may feel that the change is for the best, feeling that jemsite provides contention or just a nice place to hang around, while other may feel that the forum has lost some depth.

The purpose of this thread, is just know if other members are perceiving this also, or if its just me.

Any comments?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement