Gonna try running MAC OS X - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-15-2006, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Robstown TX
Posts: 1,179
Gonna try running MAC OS X

So im gonna try running Mac OS X on my winblows pc with a program called Pear PC



...I hope this works,lol
Eddie_UV777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-15-2006, 06:23 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Thanks for the update, I'm going to shower, then shave then get dressed.
elcid is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Robstown TX
Posts: 1,179
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

didnt work as planned, anyone got a copy of OS X they dont want?
Eddie_UV777 is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 970
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

I don't believe it works that way eddie. at least not that i know of. at the moment, i believe mac can only do the whole dual os thing easily, but i could be wrong. why get os x though? i have a mac pro and i use windows because macs suck.
Nordhauser is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 711
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

did you buy the copy of os x?

if you want to run mac os x, o think you should just get a mac in the first place. mac mini's aren't that much, and i'm on one now.

I beg to differ with Nordhauser, macs have got to be the most stable and easy to use computers imo. I have never had an error window come up with something like, "ERROR 2X9875, THE PROGRAM HAS BEEN ABORTED. WOULD YOU LIKE TO REPORT THIS TO MICROSOFT?"
Never.

of course everyone has their prefs, and you may like the interface better or something, but as far as reliability goes, mac is the way to go.
Jem#5150 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,596
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid View Post
Thanks for the update, I'm going to shower, then shave then get dressed.
.
crevis is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 970
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

mac is just in style. it has the same capabilities as pc. mac doesn't popup like that because it'll just freeze or continue to bounce on the dock. there's not much you can do to enhance a mac either. on the other hand... whatever, i'm not getting worked up over this haha. it all comes down to opinion.
it is pretty stylish to have windows on the mac though.
Nordhauser is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 02:20 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US - MD
Posts: 1,762
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Linux rulez ...

Just had to throw that out there.

S-man is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 927
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Have a go at this:
www.osx86project.org

(works like a charm on my Hell D-810 notebook.
Jeroenn is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Robstown TX
Posts: 1,179
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordhauser View Post
I don't believe it works that way eddie. at least not that i know of. at the moment, i believe mac can only do the whole dual os thing easily, but i could be wrong. why get os x though? i have a mac pro and i use windows because macs suck.

It does work that way, Pear PC is a emulator that enables you to run OS X but you need the tiger installation CD and then you need to make them .ISO's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jem#5150 View Post
did you buy the copy of os x?

if you want to run mac os x, o think you should just get a mac in the first place. mac mini's aren't that much, and i'm on one now.
my uncle has a mac mini that he never uses im trying to get it off his hands he says "they make great paper work", Im about to kill him for that I hate winblows xp
Eddie_UV777 is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 711
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordhauser View Post
mac is just in style. it has the same capabilities as pc. mac doesn't popup like that because it'll just freeze or continue to bounce on the dock. there's not much you can do to enhance a mac either. on the other hand... whatever, i'm not getting worked up over this haha. it all comes down to opinion.
it is pretty stylish to have windows on the mac though.
true. i respect your opinion.

i actually run windows on virtual pc if i ever need something to run or other wise. it runs slow, but it works. i can't run boot camp since i don't have an intel mac.

but keep on tryin' to get it off your uncle, or apple has a few refurbished ones for sale online. you'll get the same thing, but not for the full price. i think you should also check that out if you are interested in buying one still. i bought mine refurbished, and it was cheaper and still has all the benefits of a warranty, etc.

i wish i could help you in running osx on your pc, but i don't have any experience in doing that.
Jem#5150 is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-19-2006, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Robstown TX
Posts: 1,179
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jem#5150 View Post
true. i respect your opinion.

i actually run windows on virtual pc if i ever need something to run or other wise. it runs slow, but it works. i can't run boot camp since i don't have an intel mac.

but keep on tryin' to get it off your uncle, or apple has a few refurbished ones for sale online. you'll get the same thing, but not for the full price. i think you should also check that out if you are interested in buying one still. i bought mine refurbished, and it was cheaper and still has all the benefits of a warranty, etc.

i wish i could help you in running osx on your pc, but i don't have any experience in doing that.
yeah I might end up getting off my uncle but he's stupid he has this mentallity that when he purchases something and resells it, it re-sells for the same price or even more, so yeah chances are I might get a refurbished one.

and as for the installation, all Pear PC is just like virtual PC for mac only vice versa I need a copy OS X tiger and make those into .ISO's with a hardrive image and bam instant OS X but yeah I dont have OS X and my uncle only has a restore CD that came with his mac and well im not sure if that will work, nonetheless it's not hard I just need a copy of OS X
Eddie_UV777 is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-20-2006, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Robstown TX
Posts: 1,179
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

well here it is, not as fast but it work's!


and yes it goes fullscreen

Eddie_UV777 is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-20-2006, 07:09 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 711
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

cool, it worked.
Jem#5150 is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-21-2006, 03:06 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 3,467
Re: Gonna try running MAC OS X

Cool, now I wonder how elcid made out wit the whole shower, shave, get dressed thing.
Rotti is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Running A Tube Amp At Differant Ohm Loads Give Different Tones?? jl2556 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 22 04-11-2006 07:50 PM
gonna mod my rg550 lefty patricia All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 0 02-08-2006 02:27 PM
Running a Boss GT6 In stereo with a single 4x12 cab? themaidenmaniac Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 09-29-2004 04:58 PM
running amp and cab with different ohms adamcbest Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 08-30-2004 02:47 PM
RUNNING PICKUP CURRENT IN REVERSE? - hey you electronics guy shawn Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 04-09-2001 01:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome