I'm trying to make a 3D JEM... - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-19-2009, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 2
I'm trying to make a 3D JEM...

Yes, that's right! After a few years of learning 3DS MAX, I've gotten enough courage to try and model a guitar, top to bottom. And hopefully, this way, also increase my knowledge base about the instrument (i.e. what are the frets made out of, how is it wired, and so forth). However, not ever owning an Ibanez is proving to be a bit of a pain. (and yes, my friends have les pauls, which are utterly useless in my quest for the shiniest JEM).

Why? Why not, it's a good exercise, I work as a designer to fund my guitar escapades, and it's a good way to give something back to the community.

Why should I care? Why not, once again. Once the overall model is done, I could maybe do a few custom paintjobs, some nice shiny pickguards, and of course a guitar with the numa numa guy on it.

What I require for accuracy modelling -- I'm using a reference picture of a JEM 20th (it's clear, and quite high res, but it's a top view). I could benefit enormously if someone were kind enough to take a few side pictures of their JEM (or mind you, even RG) -- toss in a ruler, if you're feeling generous, I like to be as accurate as I can.

Even if nobody has the time to take any pictures, I hope you won't mind if I use this thread to track and post updates on it. I'm going for photorealism.

The picture I'm using. Yes, it's on my photo bukkit, and no, there's nothing interesting to see there anyway, so it's not advertising. I'd post other 3D works, but they're highly irrelevant I guess. I might toss in some funky abstract things if anyone's interested. If not, just ignore me whilst I'm talking to myself. :P