iPod repairs and a new direction - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-21-2006, 11:36 AM Thread Starter

Reviews: 1
iPod repairs and a new direction

Hey all, I was curious what kind of intrest there is out here, as I've started a new project repairing iPods for fun and profit. I've been doing this for 6 months now and there has been a great word of mouth response locally, but I wanted to see how many people had the afflicted MP3 player.
I have a full stock of batteries, hard drives, cables, logic boards, displays, you name it.
Pricing from Apple care is obscene considering that most of their diagnostics are vague and overpriced, telling you that your iPod needs a hard drive when that may not be the case.

Apple charges $250 for a 20 Gig hard drive replacement.
I can do it for $100 less.
Batteries, they want $99, I can do it for $39-49 depending on the model and if you want an upgraded, longer lasting battery.

The other thing is, I've seen how ipods look after someone has opened them at the Apple store, You can't even tell after done it.
Attention to detail on these devices is very important, at least it is to me...

Lemme know what you guys think.
I have a basic site up now at www.kinetic-connection.com and I'm in the process of making a nicer one right now. more content, more explaination of repairs etc.

I'm posting ads like this locally: http://chicago.craigslist.org/ele/183679580.html
trying to create a buzz.

Any suggestions?

Bamm
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-21-2006, 12:20 PM

Re: iPod repairs and a new direction

Man I wish I still had my ipod but it got jacked at school
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-21-2006, 04:09 PM

if you got any car chargers/transmiters so the music comes out the radio let me know!